PDA

View Full Version : PowerPC programs not working




Lord Seth
Oct 5, 2012, 11:17 PM
Okay, this is a bit old, I know, especially as it started with Lion. Still, my older laptop was able to run them until it broke down, which is why I bought a new MacBook Pro today to replace it. The problem is that now a bunch of my older programs won't run at all (I transferred it all to the new computer via Time Machine).

Some research indicates the possibility of partitioning the hard drive and installing Snow Leopard, but unfortunately I can't currently find my old CD for it, and even if I did I've also read that new hardware on new computers renders that impossible. Is that true?

So...is there any way to still be able to use my older files? Or do I have to just buy an older laptop/desktop for it to work? And if so, any suggestions on where to buy it? I've actually never bought a used computer before.



50548
Oct 6, 2012, 03:12 AM
Rosetta support is gone in Lion and Mountain Lion; and no, SL cannot be run on Ivy Bridge Macs.

You may, just may, try installing SL as a virtualized system with the free VirtualBox. No idea if this is even possible, though.

fisherking
Oct 6, 2012, 07:58 AM
what programs? there are probably updated versions, or apps that are similar, that you can use... make your life simple, move forward... (just a humble suggestion).

Caromsoft
Oct 6, 2012, 02:19 PM
what programs? there are probably updated versions, or apps that are similar, that you can use... make your life simple, move forward... (just a humble suggestion).

I have an old version of Crystal Quest I wish I could run! :(:D

GimmeSlack12
Oct 6, 2012, 02:22 PM
I have an old version of Crystal Quest I wish I could run! :(:D

I think my tutorial for running SheepShaver (Mac OS Classic emulator) might help you out.
www.redundantrobot.com