PDA

View Full Version : Another downgrading question regarding time machine




trekster
Oct 6, 2012, 05:08 AM
Mountain Lion is crashing everything on my computer. I think I made a time machine back up while using mountain lion, I want to downgrade back to lion. The question is if I made the time machine back up via mountain lion, will I still able to use the time machine back up on lion? Is their a way to check what operating system my time machine back is using?

Thanks



charlieegan3
Oct 6, 2012, 05:12 AM
just install lion and then move back the stuff you want over, or if the backup was made with lion already then you're good to go. Can't remember when you last backup was or if it was on ML?

trekster
Oct 6, 2012, 05:44 AM
just install lion and then move back the stuff you want over, or if the backup was made with lion already then you're good to go. Can't remember when you last backup was or if it was on ML?

Lets assume I did my time machine back up with ML. Would I still be ok?

DavidRavenMoon
Oct 6, 2012, 12:38 PM
Noting should be crashing on your machine. Try reinstalling ML first.

Mine never crashes. I used to get kernel panics in Lion.

trekster
Oct 6, 2012, 12:43 PM
Noting should be crashing on your machine. Try reinstalling ML first.

Mine never crashes. I used to get kernel panics in Lion.
I've done a clean install then I use my time machine backup. Could the time machine file be corrupt? Is there a way I can check?

DavidRavenMoon
Oct 6, 2012, 01:02 PM
I've done a clean install then I use my time machine backup. Could the time machine file be corrupt? Is there a way I can check?

Yes, could be there's something wrong with the backups. A clean install would be to get fresh files, so then don't go putting the bad ones back on.

I was having an issue the other day with apps not launching, and I had to repair permissions to fix it. Might be something like that. Or bad preference files.

trekster
Oct 6, 2012, 01:07 PM
Yes, could be there's something wrong with the backups. A clean install would be to get fresh files, so then don't go putting the bad ones back on.

I was having an issue the other day with apps not launching, and I had to repair permissions to fix it. Might be something like that. Or bad preference files.

Well, I need the files from my time machine backups. I could care less about the applications, but I need all my media files and firefox backups. Is there a way that I can specifically transfer files from my time machine back up to my computer?

DavidRavenMoon
Oct 6, 2012, 03:51 PM
Well, I need the files from my time machine backups. I could care less about the applications, but I need all my media files and firefox backups. Is there a way that I can specifically transfer files from my time machine back up to my computer?

Open the folder that should have the files in them, say like the Documents folder. You go into Time Machine and it will open into that folder. Go back to the date that has those files, select the ones you want, and press "Restore."

It will copy them to your present folder.