Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Leftyblues

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 22, 2012
Good morning. I am a new user to final cut and it seems like a whole lot more than I need at the moment.

I am a musician and I do digital video of my shows.

I want to be able to open up a file that may
Be an hour long and copy individual songs to new files so I can post them to our websites..

So far it seems the program is geared toward the exact opposite; importing various files and combining them( which I will learn to do do later on)

The manual is HUGE and I want to get rolling.

Are there any online tutorials or tips any of you more experienced user may have ?

Thank you in advance for any help

Lefty

boch82

macrumors 6502
Apr 14, 2008
Good morning. I am a new user to final cut and it seems like a whole lot more than I need at the moment.

I am a musician and I do digital video of my shows.

I want to be able to open up a file that may
Be an hour long and copy individual songs to new files so I can post them to our websites..

So far it seems the program is geared toward the exact opposite; importing various files and combining them( which I will learn to do do later on)

The manual is HUGE and I want to get rolling.

Are there any online tutorials or tips any of you more experienced user may have ?

Thank you in advance for any help

Lefty

Your best bet if all you want to do is extract segments and export to individual files is to use QuickTime Pro 7 or MPEG Stream Clip.

Either one will let you mark an in and out point, trim the file and export.

Mpeg Stream Clip is free if you don't already have quicktime pro.

mBox

macrumors 68020
Jun 26, 2002
Now I dont know which version you are using.
FCP 7 and older will allow you to create in and out points on a sequence timeline.
FCPX wont. You will need to create one project per song which isnt that hard.
Then export each project at a time.