PDA

View Full Version : AMD and Jaguar


AngusB
Nov 22, 2002, 09:01 AM
Check out As the Apple Turns... www.appleturns.com

They found a page on the Apple Web site the shows AMD compatibility as a Jaguar feature...


http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/compare.html

Hmm....

Den-Chan
Nov 22, 2002, 09:27 AM
It says AMD but it doesn't say if its the chip maker. What else could the AMD letters stand for? Probably some feature in Jaguar.

arn
Nov 22, 2002, 09:28 AM
Originally posted by AngusB
Check out As the Apple Turns... www.appleturns.com

They found a page on the Apple Web site the shows AMD compatibility as a Jaguar feature...


http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/compare.html

Hmm....


Szark pointed out in another thread this is most likely the automount daemon (/usr/sbin/amd).

arn

sparkleytone
Nov 22, 2002, 09:48 AM
man amd:

AMD(8)

NAME
amd - automatically mount file systems

SYNOPSIS
amd -H
amd [ -F conf_file ]
amd [ -nprvHS ] [ -a mount_point ] [ -c duration ] [ -d
domain ] [ -k kernel-arch ] [ -l logfile ] [ -o op_sys_ver
] [ -t interval.interval ] [ -w interval ] [ -x log-option
] [ -y YP-domain ] [ -C cluster-name ] [ -D option ] [ -F
conf_file ] [ -O op_sys_name ] [ -T tag ] [ directory map-
name [ -map-options ] ] ...

AngusB
Nov 22, 2002, 10:22 AM
But then why would it be listed under the Other Features listing and not the Networking feature? Like NFS or Windows File Server Support, etc...

Or under developed and application support as a standard BSD 4.4 command?


Angus

gbojim
Nov 22, 2002, 11:21 AM
Originally posted by AngusB
But then why would it be listed under the Other Features listing and not the Networking feature? Like NFS or Windows File Server Support, etc...

Or under developed and application support as a standard BSD 4.4 command?


Angus

Probably because amd is used to mount local file systems as well as remote.

Kid Red
Nov 22, 2002, 11:24 AM
Nothing to see here move on...http://www.am-utils.org/