PDA

View Full Version : Front Row - Does anybody uses it?




rjcalifornia
Oct 23, 2012, 03:38 PM
Ok, so Leopard comes with front row, however does anybody actually uses it? I've never used it before, what about you guys? Any real advantage of using it?



Jessica Lares
Oct 23, 2012, 05:19 PM
Really? :rolleyes:

rjcalifornia
Oct 23, 2012, 06:54 PM
Really? :rolleyes:

yeah... really...:cool:

Nermal
Oct 23, 2012, 07:11 PM
I used to use it to watch movie previews but it seems to be gone from 10.8 :(

Jessica Lares
Oct 23, 2012, 10:21 PM
I use it still too. You can kinda get the same effect in 10.8 by finding all your media, selecting it all, then opening it in Quick Look and going into full screen.

rjcalifornia
Oct 23, 2012, 10:49 PM
I use it still too. You can kinda get the same effect in 10.8 by finding all your media, selecting it all, then opening it in Quick Look and going into full screen.

Ahhh I see... ok...

orestes1984
Oct 23, 2012, 10:59 PM
Front Row with Perian is more capable than an Apple TV if you can live with the ATV1 interface... Perhaps not on PPC macs, but I've used it as a media centre that can handle MP4/MKV/AVI and MP2 DVD folders once its all set up.

As a media centre that supports every media format that you throw at it, it does well. It even loads third party applications like EyeTV, XBMC, Hulu/Netflix desktop and Boxee through plugins meaning you can not only control your own media content but watch live tv or stream content from the popular streaming services.

http://www.holeintheceiling.com/blog/front-row-plugins/
http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/32849/understudy
http://www.bruji.com/extras/dvdpediafrontrow.html

If you have an older intel Mac, or I guess even a fast quad G5 that can handle 1080p then Frontrow provides perfectly capable media centre software even today. People often underrate what Frontrow is capable of as a media centre front end and it's one of the most misunderstood components of OS X that had to stand on its own in the Apple TV1 to get any recognition.

kalel77
Oct 24, 2012, 02:23 AM
I use it to watch the movie preview!

wobegong
Oct 29, 2012, 12:10 AM
Still use it but only for movie trailers, used on my 10.7 MB media centre machine, nice and easy to browse the trailers with the remote.

P.S. - Even though it was dropped from the later OSX versions you can just drag and drop the app from an old Mac so you don't lose it.

keremtezcan
Oct 29, 2012, 12:21 PM
No and no. It is useless it was just to have something to go against windows media centre, which also was useless. At least for me.

orestes1984
Oct 29, 2012, 12:56 PM
It is useless... for me.

But not for others obviously :rolleyes:

choodalls
Oct 29, 2012, 01:17 PM
I used to use it a lot. I thought it was a shame that Apple killed it. Presumably to sell more Apple TVs.

rjcalifornia
Oct 29, 2012, 02:09 PM
I used to use it a lot. I thought it was a shame that Apple killed it. Presumably to sell more Apple TVs.

Ok, well, it stills works?

VanneDC
Oct 29, 2012, 03:19 PM
i used to use it a LOT!, it was the basis for my media centre before moving over to the ATV2. nice piece of software and as previously stated esp with perian.

OnceYouGoMac
Oct 29, 2012, 06:51 PM
Have it on my 2010 MBP but I've never used it.

Paulywauly
Nov 1, 2012, 01:55 PM
Used to use Front Row everyday a few years back. iMac + Remote + Front Row was a nice TV replacement in the bedroom :) Although the iPad took over and Front Row was eventually removed from OSX.

Cox Orange
Nov 1, 2012, 03:04 PM
My question might be dumb and I may not really understand the technology (never had front row), but the first iMacs (tray loaders, bondi blue, Rev. A and maybe B) had infrared to work with peripherals. Did someone ever try using front row with an old iMac G3? I know officially 10.3 is the highest OS supported, but though very slow, OS 10.4 would work and wouldn't front row work with 10.4? Of Course one would have to test it with something like a jpeg-video or something and it would not be practically usable, but would it be possible in terms of "it would work, though useless"? Sorry, I feel a bit stupid to ask something like that.

keremtezcan
Nov 4, 2012, 10:31 AM
But not for others obviously :rolleyes:

Well I guess, but if it was useful they would have kept it in Lion/Mountain Lion (at least I think it isn't on Lion/Mountain Lion. If it is though, my bad!)

----------

keremtezcan is awesome

I know

----------

Well I guess, but if it was useful they would have kept it in Lion/Mountain Lion (at least I think it isn't on Lion/Mountain Lion. If it is though, my bad!)

----------



I know

*Sorry for the above post by "everybody" I was just seeing if I could make up a fake username for a quote*

orestes1984
Nov 4, 2012, 08:01 PM
Well I guess, but if it was useful they would have kept it in Lion/Mountain Lion (at least I think it isn't on Lion/Mountain Lion. If it is though, my bad!)[COLOR="#808080"]

Did it occur to you that someone in Apple marketing might have said

"Hey, people out there don't understand this whole Front Row thing, but we bought Take 2 and so we're going to make this work. Now the best way to do that is to spin it off into a new product called the Apple TV"

Front Row is simply a more powerful version of the Apple TV1. For people to understand and use the software Apple had to create a new product, but then Front Row is exactly what underpinned it ;)

rjcalifornia
Nov 4, 2012, 09:26 PM
Did it occur to you that someone in Apple marketing might have said

"Hey, people out there don't understand this whole Front Row thing, but we bought Take 2 and so we're going to make this work. Now the best way to do that is to spin it off into a new product called the Apple TV"

Front Row is simply a more powerful version of the Apple TV1. For people to understand and use the software Apple had to create a new product, but then Front Row is exactly what underpinned it ;)

Sweet! But it is useless to me :)