PDA

View Full Version : Skype 6 for Mac Now Supports Facebook Logins and the Retina Display




MacRumors
Oct 24, 2012, 01:47 PM
http://images.macrumors.com/im/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com/2012/10/24/skype-6-for-mac-now-supports-facebook-logins-and-the-retina-display/)


http://images.macrumors.com/article-new/2012/10/skypelogo.jpgMicrosoft has updated Skype (http://blogs.skype.com/garage/2012/10/skype_60_for_mac_and_windows_d.html) to version 6, adding Retina display support as well as the ability to sign into Skype using a Facebook account. This eliminates the need to sign up for a separate Skype account. Last year, Skype added the ability (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/11/17/skype-adds-facebook-video-calling-support/) to make Facebook chat and video calls to its app.
Microsoft and Facebook Account Integration
Sign up and sign-in is easier than ever. You can now sign into Skype using your Microsoft or Facebook account - there's no need to create a new Skype account. This makes it even easier to connect with friends on Skype without having to set up another account.

IM friends on Messenger
Now you can instant message your Windows Live Messenger, Hotmail and Outlook.com contacts via Skype all in one place. If you use a Microsoft account today, merging your accounts is easy - just sign in to Skype with your Microsoft account.

Calling with Messenger friends is coming soon
We're working on polishing a feature which will enable audio and video calls to Windows Live Messenger customers using Skype desktop clients. The feature will be available in coming weeks.

Open Chats in Multiple Windows
We hear your feedback! With this release we've added support to open chats in multiple windows.

Retina Display Support
We also added another feature you've asked for - support Retina display. Now you can take full advantage of improved usability and of higher resolution screens.Skype for Mac is a free download (http://www.skype.com/intl/en/get-skype) from Skype.com.

Article Link: Skype 6 for Mac Now Supports Facebook Logins and the Retina Display (http://www.macrumors.com/2012/10/24/skype-6-for-mac-now-supports-facebook-logins-and-the-retina-display/)



DaDalle
Oct 24, 2012, 01:52 PM
How about Notification Center support?

miniroll32
Oct 24, 2012, 01:57 PM
When are they going to release the update that fixes crappiness?

waqas
Oct 24, 2012, 02:03 PM
How about Notification Center support?

I installed it. Notification Center support's included.

Dias
Oct 24, 2012, 02:04 PM
So, how do I start a conversation in a separate window? :confused:

nikomakhos
Oct 24, 2012, 02:11 PM
So, how do I start a conversation in a separate window? :confused:

Go to 'Preferences' -> 'General' -> 'Open conversation in new window when double-clicked in the sidebar'.

kirky29
Oct 24, 2012, 02:20 PM
Chats in a another window. Thank you!

byke
Oct 24, 2012, 02:21 PM
Does it still have that pig ugly, and oversized GUI ?
I am still on 2.something because of it.

poobear
Oct 24, 2012, 02:28 PM
Does it still have that pig ugly, and oversized GUI ?
I am still on 2.something because of it.
Yep. Don't see any difference in the GUI

AeroUK
Oct 24, 2012, 02:32 PM
When you place the Skype Test Call on the Macbook Pro is it normal for the voice that is played back to only come from the right speaker or should it come from both speakers?

Please let me know!

Cougarcat
Oct 24, 2012, 02:37 PM
When you place the Skype Test Call on the Macbook Pro is it normal for the voice that is played back to only come from the right speaker or should it come from both speakers?

Please let me know!

It should come from both.

I installed it. Notification Center support's included.

I don't see it. My options are built-in or Growl, same as before, and it doesn't appear in NC preferences.


Go to 'Preferences' -> 'General' -> 'Open conversation in new window when double-clicked in the sidebar'.

It's really weird that you can enable/disable that. It's not like double clicking will do anything else there.

ThunderSkunk
Oct 24, 2012, 02:51 PM
If the interface wasn't designed as backward and unfriendly as possible, Skype wouldn't have the unique distinction of being the ONLY app that I use the tiny pixelated iPod Touch version of on this huge retina displayed iPad 3.

But it is, so I do.

For gods sakes, hire someone, anyone to put some, any, thought into your UI already. It's awful, and has been for longer than you could possibly come up with a good excuse for.

50548
Oct 24, 2012, 02:54 PM
When are they going to release the update that fixes crappiness?

The best news is: you can resize their window a little better. Skype is THE crap of the crap for UI...amazing.

gumblecosby
Oct 24, 2012, 02:56 PM
How much RAM does this version use? Version 2.8 used 50mb. Version 5 needs 120 -150mb.

50548
Oct 24, 2012, 02:59 PM
How much RAM does this version use? Version 2.8 used 50mb. Version 5 needs 120 -150mb.

Without doing anything (just being open), 163MB here.

davids8477
Oct 24, 2012, 03:03 PM
Yep. Don't see any difference in the GUI

I'll stick to my reliable 2.8.X then

MasterHowl
Oct 24, 2012, 03:05 PM
Installed.

UI is just as awful as before, but notification centre integration is quite nice.

Icon has changed slightly too.

gumblecosby
Oct 24, 2012, 03:10 PM
Without doing anything (just being open), 163MB here.

Thanks.

If I run Skype 2.8 and Adium for MSN I use 95mb of RAM in total. I was hoping Microsoft might slim down Skype.

KALLT
Oct 24, 2012, 03:14 PM
I don't see it. My options are built-in or Growl, same as before, and it doesn't appear in NC preferences.

Same here.

zeemeerman2
Oct 24, 2012, 03:14 PM
That icon!
Also, the menu bar icon is now black instead of coloured (e.g. green as online).

xriderx11
Oct 24, 2012, 03:21 PM
how about they optimize the iphone 5 while they are at it too.

george-brooks
Oct 24, 2012, 03:24 PM
Just realized yesterday I was using version 2.x and updated to 5. Bad timing!!! haha.

I rarely use skype. iChat/Messages is so much better and I don't have to add a whole extra set of contacts (though I guess now skype integrates with contacts)

frexer
Oct 24, 2012, 03:33 PM
I get this error after updating
https://support.skype.com/en/faq/FA10966/why-does-skype-home-not-load?frompage=search&q=Skype+home&fromSearchFirstPage=false

foobarbaz
Oct 24, 2012, 03:37 PM
30 seconds and I've already run into three bugs. My advice: Wait for for the first patches.

wikus
Oct 24, 2012, 03:42 PM
Does it still have that pig ugly, and oversized GUI ?
I am still on 2.something because of it.

THIS.

Holy hell, the UI designer for Skype 5 should be FIRED.

jdavtz
Oct 24, 2012, 03:47 PM
I have the beta for 6 (I think) on my iMac, and 2.8.0.866 on my Macbook Air, and the UI for 2.8 is much much better (sits nicely in the corner of the screen).

Using 42MB here and it's been open for three days.

DivineEvil
Oct 24, 2012, 03:47 PM
THIS.

Holy hell, the UI designer for Skype 5 should be FIRED.

I'm also sticking to v2.8, because v5.x was using too much CPU and the fan was constantly spinning on my MBP 13" mid 2009!

pubjoe
Oct 24, 2012, 03:52 PM
Can it 'startup in background' yet?

I never use skype as it pops up with a huge window every time my computer starts - really annoying for an occasional use application that requires being constantly logged in to be useful whatsoever. Apps like this should be as minimal and discreet as possible. If you have to turn it off then it becomes useless for calling people. I also notice that my friends list is nearly always offline, because they've had to come to the same solution - turn it off.

...It's a real shame as chat/cam software is really divided. Everyone uses something different. We could really do with a popular program that everybody uses. Skype was nearly it.

Cougarcat
Oct 24, 2012, 04:03 PM
Can it 'startup in background' yet?


The new Windows 8 version works in the background, just like FaceTime. Hopefully they'll bring the feature to OS X too.

50548
Oct 24, 2012, 04:06 PM
THIS.

Holy hell, the UI designer for Skype 5 should be FIRED.

Had forgotten that MS bought them a while ago - so no, he won't be fired anytime soon :D

Silmarien
Oct 24, 2012, 04:57 PM
Cant find the notifications menu eirther. Only the built in and Growl ones. Also the dealbreaker for me is that sharing a screen requires a premium account now(just like in windows). So can anyone tell me where to find a 2.8.x version?

bsforever
Oct 24, 2012, 05:03 PM
I just updated and then downgraded to the last stable version as it kept crashing on my rMBP. Despite a clean reboot and fresh reinstall twice. Pathetic.

Amazing Iceman
Oct 24, 2012, 06:07 PM
I wonder if there will be an update to the iOS Skype App that would support Microsoft and Facebook Account Integration.
At this point the desktop and mobile versions are out of sync feature-wise. :mad:

kayloh20
Oct 24, 2012, 09:48 PM
I wonder if there will be an update to the iOS Skype App that would support Microsoft and Facebook Account Integration.
At this point the desktop and mobile versions are out of sync feature-wise. :mad:

I've never been able to join a call (answer a call, yes, but not join a call) on Skype for iOS, so it's been out of sync for a while :(

I'm sure it will at least support Facebook, given that the API is very easy to use (even before iOS 6).

ArtOfWarfare
Oct 24, 2012, 10:33 PM
Microsoft?

Did a miss something? How long as Microsoft had anything to do with Skype, besides the app running on their OS's?

Could explain why I haven't felt compelled to upgrade in a few years...

jw2002
Oct 24, 2012, 10:40 PM
I'm using v5.3.0.1093. It's okay. One time I let it upgrade to a version beyond that, and discovered that it was infested with banner ads! So Time Machine to the rescue, and I'm not ever going to upgrade it again. And seriously, integrated facebook/skype logins? Yawn, no value added.

moxxey
Oct 25, 2012, 02:22 AM
Although I do like the new Skype 6 (minor) retina improvements, I'll admit it's an annoying and poorly designed application.

If, like me, you have Skype running during the day, at work, on your retina MBP, it forces you to use discrete graphics, which is incredibly annoying. Do you really need to use the discrete GPU just to keep an application running? I can understand it might be needed for the video calls, but why does it need discrete for keeping the app open in your dock?!

This would be the first priority for me - sort out the forced use of discrete graphics.

moxxey
Oct 25, 2012, 04:10 AM
Scrap the above. How embarrassing. It appears they've FIXED the discrete graphics issue with Skype 6. Only uses the integrated graphics when it's idle.

This was my number one concern. Sorted.

ThomasJL
Oct 25, 2012, 04:31 AM
My parents and I use Skype to communicate. We both have 2012 Macs. We both use the Logitech c920 webcam which is capable of 1080p on Windows, but only 720p on Macs. Do any of you know if Skype 6 finally brings 1080p to Macs?

baryon
Oct 25, 2012, 04:32 AM
As much as Skype sucks, we don't have any competition or any other choice for instant messaging and video chat. Apple's Messages only works on Macs and Apple products, so you can't talk with anyone on Windows (99% of my contacts are on Windows). MSN Messenger doesn't have video chat for Mac. Google + Hangouts require you to install a plugin, and you can't be always online unless you keep the browser window open all the time… accidentally closed the browser? Well no one can reach you now!

How come no one other than Skype ever made a decent video/chat client? I'm sure it's not that difficult, there's a bunch of stupid useless apps out there, devs should instead be focusing on something that the world needs: to allow people to communicate, which is still not always possible in freaking 2012.

JGRE
Oct 25, 2012, 05:09 AM
And is it still 32-bit? When are they going to upgrade this app to 64-bit?

Jeaz
Oct 25, 2012, 05:20 AM
Does it still have that pig ugly, and oversized GUI ?
I am still on 2.something because of it.

The main UI is still there, but a few versions ago they did re-add the old smaller GUI as an option as well, so you can choose. Personally, I find the old smaller UI to be the pig ugly one, but I guess that's just down to taste isn't it :-)

Amazing Iceman
Oct 25, 2012, 07:31 AM
I've never been able to join a call (answer a call, yes, but not join a call) on Skype for iOS, so it's been out of sync for a while :(

I'm sure it will at least support Facebook, given that the API is very easy to use (even before iOS 6).

I use Skype all the time and have barely any issues with both my Mac and iOS and the people using Windows at the other end.
I wonder if your problems are caused by your ISP instead.
That is, unless you are referring to Joining an audio or video chat already in progress, which I haven't tried; actually I did try want to do it once but it was unsupported.

I heard that the Oovoo app would let you do it, but then that's another app and messenger to have, sort of a pain.

joemod
Oct 25, 2012, 07:38 AM
Microsoft?

Did a miss something? How long as Microsoft had anything to do with Skype, besides the app running on their OS's?

Could explain why I haven't felt compelled to upgrade in a few years...

Microsoft bought Skype for 8 billion dollars if I recall correctly. I don't know who does the development now though

kayloh20
Oct 25, 2012, 08:09 AM
I use Skype all the time and have barely any issues with both my Mac and iOS and the people using Windows at the other end.
I wonder if your problems are caused by your ISP instead.
That is, unless you are referring to Joining an audio or video chat already in progress, which I haven't tried; actually I did try want to do it once but it was unsupported.

I heard that the Oovoo app would let you do it, but then that's another app and messenger to have, sort of a pain.

Oh yes, I do mean joining an active call, sorry. It always puzzles me because at least conceptually it's the same as answering a call, only there's no popup window, right?

Amazing Iceman
Oct 25, 2012, 08:21 AM
Oh yes, I do mean joining an active call, sorry. It always puzzles me because at least conceptually it's the same as answering a call, only there's no popup window, right?

Yeah. Well, maybe in a newer update...
The Messenger integration is worthless if it doesn't work on my iOS devices, so I really hope for an update.

Andy-V
Oct 25, 2012, 08:52 AM
I see a couple of people mention notification center but like others I don't see anything for it. Has someone actually seen Skype do a notification center notification?

zapnyc
Oct 25, 2012, 08:52 AM
OK so you don't like the interface?
I've never had a real problem with it. It gets the job done fine.

I travel the world, and only ONE video chat program works EVERY time...even in bizarrely firewalled hotels in Asia and low-bandwidth small-town hotels in Germany. In every hotel in the USA I stay.

Skype.

needfx
Oct 25, 2012, 08:56 AM
hey babe, you look horrible on the retina display

gumblecosby
Oct 25, 2012, 10:49 AM
OK so you don't like the interface?
I've never had a real problem with it. It gets the job done fine.

I travel the world, and only ONE video chat program works EVERY time...even in bizarrely firewalled hotels in Asia and low-bandwidth small-town hotels in Germany. In every hotel in the USA I stay.

Skype.

You are correct. It works better than FaceTime for me and traverses firewalls well. The complaints are that it has regressed since version 2.8. I have used this version (2.8) in every place I have travelled and it works well. The newer versions offer no improvements in my scenario, use more resources and have a less useful UI.

If 2.8 disappeared tomorrow, I would use version 6 without hesitation though.

XboxMySocks
Oct 25, 2012, 11:17 AM
Does not work with Notification Centre on my computer :confused::confused:

ZacNicholson
Oct 25, 2012, 04:05 PM
They also added a new emotions with a little preview of what they do

Jaykob
Oct 26, 2012, 08:08 AM
It crashes right on startup o my Retina 15". Only low resolution mode works but looks really ugly... Anybody else with this problem?

faroZ06
Oct 26, 2012, 09:32 PM
Ah Skype, one of the worst chatting networks.

turtlez
Oct 27, 2012, 10:03 AM
Ah Skype, one of the worst chatting networks.

yet the most feature rich and one of the most popular :rolleyes:

faroZ06
Oct 27, 2012, 10:21 AM
yet the most feature rich and one of the most popular :rolleyes:

What, AV chatting and calling phones? Google does that already, and it doesn't waste your bandwidth and computer resources then produce terrible video quality. AIM can already do that minus calling phones, and it works in iChat. Skype has lousy quality and runs data from other people through your computer.

Attonine
Oct 27, 2012, 07:12 PM
I updated my Skype to the new version and can no longer send SMS. I am asked to verify my mobile number in order to receive replies on my mobile. The thing is, I don't have a mobile and only use the Mac client so I have no number to verify, yet the SMS box will not let me type anything (it has a link in it which sends me to skype preferences to put in my mobile number!) until I verify a non existent number!

CASLondon
Oct 28, 2012, 04:21 PM
Microsoft bought Skype for 8 billion dollars if I recall correctly. I don't know who does the development now though

And is intending to monetize it more aggressively than the last owner (ebay I think?).

Thus the iOS ads. Thus the social integration.

I just want to be able to move my preview window anywhere I want like before, not snap it to a corner.

joemod
Oct 29, 2012, 02:06 AM
I updated my Skype to the new version and can no longer send SMS. I am asked to verify my mobile number in order to receive replies on my mobile. The thing is, I don't have a mobile and only use the Mac client so I have no number to verify, yet the SMS box will not let me type anything (it has a link in it which sends me to skype preferences to put in my mobile number!) until I verify a non existent number!

Thanks for sharing. No updates for me then.

And is intending to monetize it more aggressively than the last owner (ebay I think?).

Thus the iOS ads. Thus the social integration.

I just want to be able to move my preview window anywhere I want like before, not snap it to a corner.

Social integration (i.e. integration with Facebook) started long before Microsoft bought Skype. I recall being prompted to link my Skype account with my Facebook account.

Spanky Deluxe
Oct 29, 2012, 04:27 AM
I'll stick with 2.8 thanks. I primarily use my computer for work/productivity/fun not as a dedicated Skype machine which is what Skype seem to thing people using their service do.

andy603
Oct 29, 2012, 09:09 AM
something I've always wondered about...when you provide your FB sign in credentials for Skype (or any other service that has that option) are you not opening up a MASSIVE security issue by giving your ID and PW to a thirdparty who can then access your FB stuff? Anyone know if this is true?

Silmarien
Oct 29, 2012, 09:17 AM
Just fyi, when I signed in to Facebook via Skype, all my "hidden" people from the "News feed" page came back. Now, after I learned my lesson, I dont plan to use that function ever again. It sucked with all the double facebook notifications anyway.

sireShonBohn
Nov 3, 2012, 01:34 AM
After running the latest software update (safari 6.02), Skype no longer works on my computer. I have the RMBP 15"