PDA

View Full Version : Desktop Amp: USB or Optical?

fiatlux
Oct 25, 2012, 08:03 AM
I just started playing piano and gained interest in digital audio. My Mac Pro having been used mostly for digital photography so far, it only had fairly basic speakers attached (LaCie USB speakers designed by Neil Poulton).

I was thinking about investiing in a small desktop amp (NuForce Icon 2, project, ... SMSL) together with a pair of good monitor or dipole surround speakers.

Many such amps offer a USB connection, but I noticed that my current USB speakers often suffer from spurious emissions.

Is this a Mac USB audio issue? Would a DAC connected to the digital output of the Mac Pro sound better?

spoonie1972
Oct 26, 2012, 01:46 PM
I just started playing piano and gained interest in digital audio. My Mac Pro having been used mostly for digital photography so far, it only had fairly basic speakers attached (LaCie USB speakers designed by Neil Poulton).

I was thinking about investiing in a small desktop amp (NuForce Icon 2, project, ... SMSL) together with a pair of good monitor or dipole surround speakers.

Many such amps offer a USB connection, but I noticed that my current USB speakers often suffer from spurious emissions.

Is this a Mac USB audio issue? Would a DAC connected to the digital output of the Mac Pro sound better?

A studio DAC (or even pro-sumer, or things marketed to audiophiles) will most certainly have its own character - but the big questions is - will you be able to tell the difference?

If your planned source is FLAC, and you have high-end speakers, and, just as importantly - a well treated room, it may be worth while.

If you're listening to 320kb mp3's, it might not be worth the investment.

As for USB amps having spurious output issues.. do they convert and draw power from the USB port for the amplification? That seems.. unwise - if that's the case.