Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

integro

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 25, 2012
Oslo
I have an used MacBook with OSX Lion on it.
I am very new in using this Apple product.
Few days ago, it deplorable crashed after I installed Wireshark and started to use it for 2-3 hours.
After a hard reboot of the Mac, it get stuck loading something, between password screen and system start!?
So I decided to take a new step in learning OSX and tried to reinstall it.:)

The recovery software asked me about Apple ID, and told me that I can easily create one, so I created one.
After that, told me that the MacBook isn't registered into my Apple ID account, so I have tried to register.
The registration form ask me about serial number and told me where can be located::eek:

Product Packaging Label
About this Mac
Apple System Profiler
On the base of the computer or other hardware
Inside the disc drive door

I wasn't the first owner of this machine, it was bought on the second-hand market... so I don't know any details about it.
Obviously, I haven't packaging label and because the OSX isn't working anymore I can't check the menu about this Mac... no Finder, no Dock or any hardware overview.
Also, on the base of the MacBook isn't the serial number and the disc drive have no door!:confused:

So, I have searched on internet (using my PC with Linux) and found that I can use this command to get the serial number!
ioreg -l | grep IOPlatformSerialNumber

Wonderful!:cool:

But now, I get a different message from Apple, that my Apple ID didn't purchased Lion.
Of course, it is a new one you stupid, I just created in order to reinstall... the OSX Lion is already in the machine, just don't work!

On the other hand, I have no special interest in Lion or another kind of animal.
As long as Apple sells all their products with some OSX already installed, I don't care which one it will be reinstalled.