Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

What is your default browser choice on 10.8?

• Total voters

Akarin

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 16, 2011
Nyon, Switzerland
I know many people use several browsers but which one do you set as the default browser and why?

I use most of them because as a developer, I need to test my sites in different ones but when it comes to browsing, my default is Safari. I think I'd prefer Chrome but the integration of Safari between OS X and iOS is just better (Reading List which Chrome doesn't support on iOS and that is a deal breaker).

Last edited:

Sital

macrumors 68020
May 31, 2012
New England
I noticed few quirks also. What are the annoying issues you speak about?

I don't like how the pop-up blocker is all or nothing (you can't whitelist certain sites and the blocker setting is buried now). I also had problems with Google images being slow to load and sometimes not loading at all.

Once it became too annoying, I switched to Firefox and no longer have these problems. Plus, for me Firefox seems a little bit faster to load pages. I do like the bookmarks sync aspect of Safari, and the back/forward swiping animation makes navigating easier, but this wasn't enough to overcome the annoyances.

Krazy Bill

macrumors 68030
Dec 21, 2011
Wow. Most people use Apple's browser on Apple's Machines running Apple's OS.

Imagine that.

iLog.Genius

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2009
Toronto, Ontario
Wow. Most people use Apple's browser on Apple's Machines running Apple's OS.

Imagine that.

Ask people a few years ago and the majority would be using Firefox and/or Chrome. Whether you like Safari or not, it has become a whole lot better while Firefox has become slow and nothing like it was in its early days (according to some people).

Yamcha

macrumors 68000
Mar 6, 2008
I'm a Web Designer so I do use all browsers for testing purposes.. But my primary browser is Safari..