PDA

View Full Version : MBA Update 2.0




Calot
Nov 9, 2012, 01:33 PM
It says that it improved graphics and performance.

Any measurable improvements?

I played The Witcher and Diablo 3 and could not feel any improvements at all. They still run great, but not noticeably better.

i7 8GB 256SSD Air here.



GrandPhrase
Nov 9, 2012, 01:36 PM
It says that it improved graphics and performance.

Any measurable improvements?

I played The Witcher and Diablo 3 and could not feel any improvements at all. They still run great, but not noticeably better.

i7 8GB 256SSD Air here.

Have you tried visiting a graphics heavy website and compared it? (Ex. The Verge)

The VRAM incrased from about 384MB TO 512MB.

danistyping
Nov 9, 2012, 01:38 PM
Actually, it appears that 4GB RAM models got the bump up to 512MB shared ram. But if you have an 8GB model, it stayed at 512MB. I think this is a shame since the HD4000 can handle 768MB. From what I understand, if you have 8GB RAM in your 2012 Air, you will not get a graphics performance boost. Correct?

tredstone
Nov 9, 2012, 02:00 PM
Have you tried visiting a graphics heavy website and compared it? (Ex. The Verge)

The VRAM incrased from about 384MB TO 512MB.

Wow! Lol. It's like the new update brings an upgraded video card to your MBA. :D

Lukewarmwinner
Nov 9, 2012, 02:53 PM
Actually, it appears that 4GB RAM models got the bump up to 512MB shared ram. But if you have an 8GB model, it stayed at 512MB. I think this is a shame since the HD4000 can handle 768MB. From what I understand, if you have 8GB RAM in your 2012 Air, you will not get a graphics performance boost. Correct?

For real? Can anyone confirm this disappointment?

Skoopman
Nov 9, 2012, 03:56 PM
Have you tried visiting a graphics heavy website and compared it? (Ex. The Verge)

The VRAM incrased from about 384MB TO 512MB.

Hm, The Verge seems to be the only site I saw since the update which has not improved at all, if not, it's even worse now. It lags a bit on the main page. Wired.com works great, even gandul.info, which is heavier than The Verge, scrolls super smooth. Also ebay.com/new scrolls smooth, but Facebook lags, weird.

Calot
Nov 9, 2012, 04:41 PM
Hm, The Verge seems to be the only site I saw since the update which has not improved at all, if not, it's even worse now. It lags a bit on the main page. Wired.com works great, even gandul.info, which is heavier than The Verge, scrolls super smooth. Also ebay.com/new scrolls smooth, but Facebook lags, weird.

To be fair, it's always lagged a little bit. A very little bit at that... but it's there.

This is extremely sad. Now the dudes with 4GB of RAM will get the same vRAM as me.

Maybe with the 3.0 update we will get 768 MB of vRAM?

A little bit more power would be awesome. But I have not found any improvements anywhere.

The shut down time still is around 20 seconds sometimes. While the fastest it can shut down is around 1-2 seconds.

I don't know why it varies.

iKnowMr.Jobs
Nov 10, 2012, 05:28 PM
i've notice the battery draining quickly in sleep mode. Does anyone else?

micrors4racer
Nov 10, 2012, 07:00 PM
Is this only for the 2012 MBAs? I would love to have 512mb vram on my 2011.

GrandPhrase
Nov 10, 2012, 07:04 PM
To be fair, it's always lagged a little bit. A very little bit at that... but it's there.

This is extremely sad. Now the dudes with 4GB of RAM will get the same vRAM as me.

Maybe with the 3.0 update we will get 768 MB of vRAM?

A little bit more power would be awesome. But I have not found any improvements anywhere.

The shut down time still is around 20 seconds sometimes. While the fastest it can shut down is around 1-2 seconds.

I don't know why it varies.

They should increase the vRAM to 1 GB for those with 8 GB RAM lmaoo. All jokes aside, 8GB RAM people should really get that much vRAM as it would nearly eliminate the lag and create a much more smoother experience. Also, is there no way to manually increase vRAM, i always thought RAM could be allocated..

Calot
Nov 10, 2012, 11:22 PM
They should increase the vRAM to 1 GB for those with 8 GB RAM lmaoo. All jokes aside, 8GB RAM people should really get that much vRAM as it would nearly eliminate the lag and create a much more smoother experience. Also, is there no way to manually increase vRAM, i always thought RAM could be allocated..


We could only dream.....

Skoopman
Nov 11, 2012, 03:12 AM
They should increase the vRAM to 1 GB for those with 8 GB RAM lmaoo. All jokes aside, 8GB RAM people should really get that much vRAM as it would nearly eliminate the lag and create a much more smoother experience. Also, is there no way to manually increase vRAM, i always thought RAM could be allocated..

I think the Intel HD4000 only supports up to 768MB VRAM.

Anyway, did anybody notice lagginess in Sparrow and Mail? I might have to restore a time machine backup, it's really annoying.

filmbuff
Nov 11, 2012, 12:03 PM
Is there a way to hack the 8gb MBA to get 768MB VRAM? If Apple can do it in an update it should be possible for anyone to do, right?

Calot
Nov 11, 2012, 12:45 PM
Is there a way to hack the 8gb MBA to get 768MB VRAM? If Apple can do it in an update it should be possible for anyone to do, right?

Not that I know of...

There is no software for Mac to control integrated graphics, I think.

If you find anything please let us know.

PaulCostello
Nov 11, 2012, 05:14 PM
For real? Can anyone confirm this disappointment?
just checked my macbook air 2012 11" 4gb ram, and to my surprise, lists the "intel HD graphics 4000" at 512 MB wow! thx apple