PDA

View Full Version : Finder displays NFS mount only few directorys deep




i42n
Nov 27, 2012, 03:06 PM
Hey,

I am new to Mac but have experience with Linux. I use a NAS for a long time now and access it via NFS shares in linux.

I now try to get this working on my macbook pro on mountain lion. I already managed to mount the nfs share in the terminal using the following command:

sudo mount -t nfs -o rw,hard,intr,rsize=32768,wsize=32768,resvport 192.168.178.4:/mnt/md1/data /Users/stefan/NAS/Data/

I even changed the uid of my account on the mac to fit the nfs share access rights. This now works fine in terminal. I can read and write files. No problems at all.

But when I want to use Finder to navigate through the NFS share it only works a few levels deep, then trying to open another directory it just displays it as empty. The contents flicker up for a second when accessing for the first time. Then they disappear. Still everything is working fine on terminal.

Anyone with a similar experience? Suggestions? As said I am new to mac but I know about unix and terminal stuff.



mfram
Nov 27, 2012, 03:40 PM
You don't have other mounts on those directories all those levels deep, right? Normally when an NFS mount is exported, only that particular filesystem is exported. If there are different filesystems on various mount points, those filesystems won't come along with the NFS mount.

Oh, and you can do NFS mounts with Finder. Do a Command-K and put in "nfs://server/mount" for the remote directory name. That will put the directory in /Volumes on your Mac. If you want those particular options, then you'll have to keep using shell commands.

i42n
Nov 27, 2012, 03:45 PM
You don't have other mounts on those directories all those levels deep, right? Normally when an NFS mount is exported, only that particular filesystem is exported. If there are different filesystems on various mount points, those filesystems won't come along with the NFS mount.

I do not have other filesystems in deeper levels.

Oh, and you can do NFS mounts with Finder. Do a Command-K and put in "nfs://server/mount" for the remote directory name. That will put the directory in /Volumes on your Mac. If you want those particular options, then you'll have to keep using shell commands.

I tried using finder. It does not work. It does not use the resvport option. When mounting via terminal without the resvport option it does not work too. Is there a possibility to apply options to the finder mount process?

i42n
Nov 29, 2012, 10:32 AM
No further ideas?