PDA

View Full Version : What...did Apple trick me!?!?!?


WillMak
Sep 16, 2005, 08:32 PM
On my about Mac it says that my Processor is 1.33GHz PowerPC G4. Which is right...but when I go to system profileer is says: " CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.2)" WTF!!?!?!?!?

mad jew
Sep 16, 2005, 08:34 PM
That 1.2 isn't related to the clock speed AFAIK. In System Profiler, does it still say:

CPU speed: 1.33GHz

:)

WillMak
Sep 16, 2005, 08:35 PM
oh nm. I shoulda read the rest of the list. :o

devilot
Sep 16, 2005, 08:35 PM
Glance down a few more lines and it should say:

CPU Speed

Does that still say 1.33GHz?

I've just checked mine--- and mine is CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.5) but the CPU speed is still 1.33GHz

:edit: Darn, I'm too slow.

Lacero
Sep 16, 2005, 08:38 PM
:edit: Darn, I'm too slow.That's why he's called Mad Jew. Poster extraordinaire. :mad: :o

mad jew
Sep 16, 2005, 08:39 PM
Hey, I can't help being mad. :o

And Lacero, did you just write my name in emoticons? :p

Demon Hunter
Sep 16, 2005, 08:49 PM
Omg that was funny :D

CorvusCamenarum
Sep 16, 2005, 09:58 PM
Machine Model: iMac G5
CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.0)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.6 GHz

What does the (3.0) mean anyway?

Chundles
Sep 17, 2005, 12:13 AM
Machine Model: iMac G5
CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.0)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.6 GHz

What does the (3.0) mean anyway?

It's a countdown to the Intel machines, your 1.6GHz is 3, the new 2.0GHz are 2, that means there will be one more rev to the iMac before the Intel chips go in.

:D

Mechcozmo
Sep 17, 2005, 02:17 AM
What does the (3.0) mean anyway?

Chip revision? :confused:

~loserman~
Sep 17, 2005, 03:16 AM
I'll add mine to the list

Machine Name: PowerBook G4 15"
Machine Model: PowerBook5,4
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (1.1)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 1.5 GHz

Eric5h5
Sep 17, 2005, 06:52 AM
Chip revision? :confused:

Got it in one!

--Eric