Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

harnadem

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 27, 2011
I have a 2011 MBA running Mountain Lion 10.8.2. Running disk utility -> verify disk showed the following messages:

Checking multi-linked files.
Incorrect number of file hard links.
Checking volume information.
The volume Macintosh HD was found corrupt and needs to be repaired.
Error: This disk needs to be repaired using the Recovery HD
. ... (and then goes on to say how to do this).

Restarting the computer using Cmd+R boots me into the OS X Utilities page.
Verifying the Macintosh HD disk shows no problems.

also, there is no "Recovery HD" option on the OS X Utilities page- is there supposed to be one? The only options are "Restore from Time Machine", "Reinstall OS X", "Get Help Online" and "Disk Utility".

I need help understanding if I have a disk problem, and how to fix it.

justperry

macrumors G5
Aug 10, 2007
I'm a rolling stone.
That's probably Recovery Harddisk.
Have you tried repairing the disk with diskwarrior, that is, you need an external bootable disk and run DiskWarrior on it.

harnadem

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 27, 2011
That's probably Recovery Harddisk.
Have you tried repairing the disk with diskwarrior, that is, you need an external bootable disk and run DiskWarrior on it.

Thank you for the help. I can try diskwarrior (will have to buy an external DVD reader). I am curious why the disk error showed up when I used verify disk as a user, but not when I used verify disk after rebooting with Cmd+R?

harnadem

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 27, 2011
Is using diskwarrior the only option? I'm looking at $179 (disk and superdrive) for the diskwarrior approach.

Also, does the HD disk need repair, or is that a false indicator. I do not get the same error when I verify disk after booking using Cmd+R

All help is appreciated.

justperry

macrumors G5
Aug 10, 2007