PDA

View Full Version : Mac won't automatically connect to network




NikkiJayne
Dec 11, 2012, 05:35 AM
Yesterday we changed our ISP and got a new router and all that jazz. Every time I close my Mac's lid and then re-open it, I have to click to join the network - it won't remember that it's a preferred network. (I don't have to re-type the password though)

I tried resetting it in the network settings options as per someone else's instructions but I couldn't delete the network in order to re-add it. (backspace won't work, neither will cmd+backspace or right clicking) Any other ideas?



mmomega
Dec 11, 2012, 05:55 AM
Yesterday we changed our ISP and got a new router and all that jazz. Every time I close my Mac's lid and then re-open it, I have to click to join the network - it won't remember that it's a preferred network. (I don't have to re-type the password though)

I tried resetting it in the network settings options as per someone else's instructions but I couldn't delete the network in order to re-add it. (backspace won't work, neither will cmd+backspace or right clicking) Any other ideas?

Does your network have the same name as the previous network?

Sometimes Lion/ML has some problems connecting to newer networks because it is trying to find the older WiFi network name and this is because that name is still remembered by OS X.

First thing I would try, IF you have a new network name, is to go to System Preferences > Network >Click/Highlight WiFi > Click Advanced > In the WiFi tab, Preferred Networks - remove all network names that you do not connect to anymore.
Personally I would just remove them all and then join the laptop back to the new WiFi network that way it is the only one it looks for.

NikkiJayne
Dec 11, 2012, 06:01 AM
Does your network have the same name as the previous network?

Sometimes Lion/ML has some problems connecting to newer networks because it is trying to find the older WiFi network name and this is because that name is still remembered by OS X.

First thing I would try, IF you have a new network name, is to go to System Preferences > Network >Click/Highlight WiFi > Click Advanced > In the WiFi tab, Preferred Networks - remove all network names that you do not connect to anymore.
Personally I would just remove them all and then join the laptop back to the new WiFi network that way it is the only one it looks for.

No, it has a new name. I can't delete any networks though, not with backspace nor cmd+backspace nor right clicking =/ I get the error sound when I try.

EDIT: Holy crap I just realised it has a minus button used to delete networks, what an idiot!

switon
Dec 11, 2012, 06:15 AM
EDIT: Holy crap I just realised it has a minus button used to delete networks, what an idiot!

Yeah, don't you just hate it when the "standard" keystrokes don't work in all apps?!

Switon