PDA

View Full Version : GOG.com Offering Classic FPS Duke Nukem 3D For Free




MacRumors
Dec 12, 2012, 04:19 PM
http://images.macrumors.com/im/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com/2012/12/12/gog-com-offering-classic-fps-duke-nukem-3d-for-free/)


http://images.macrumors.com/article-new/2012/12/dukenukem3d.jpgGOG.com, the classic PC game store, is giving away Duke Nukem 3D (http://www.gog.com/gamecard/duke_nukem_3d_atomic_edition) free for a limited time. Duke Nukem 3D was one of the most revolutionary games of its time, pushing boundaries of tastefulness, obscenity and nudity within a video game.

This particular version is the Atomic Edition (http://www.gog.com/gamecard/duke_nukem_3d_atomic_edition) of the game includes bonus episodes, new weapons and enemies. It also supports a number of fan made mods (http://www.gog.com/forum/duke_nukem_series/duke_nukem_3d_mods).
Duke Nukem, the politically incorrect celebrity and ultimate alien ass kicker, defends Earth and its babes from alien invasion.

He is a can-do hero who realizes that sometimes innocent people have to die in order to save Earth, so accuracy of gun fire is not a real concern to him. This is the award winning game that helped define the FPS genre and introduced unparalleled interactivity and a talking main character.cRF-B_f-VZc
Duke Nukem 3D is a scant 35MB and requires Snow Leopard or above. The game is available free through Friday December 14th. (http://www.gog.com/news/holiday_gift_duke_nukem_3d_pcmac).

Article Link: GOG.com Offering Classic FPS Duke Nukem 3D For Free (http://www.macrumors.com/2012/12/12/gog-com-offering-classic-fps-duke-nukem-3d-for-free/)



Even Longer
Dec 12, 2012, 04:39 PM
1. -> 2. -> 3. -> 4.

1. "Your face, your ass, - what's the difference?!"

2. "You're an inspiration for birth control"

3. "Hmm, don't have time to play with myself."

4. "You wanna dance?"


...unforgettable 1996

kainjow
Dec 12, 2012, 04:49 PM
It's also available for Windows XP/Vista/7/8.

Nermal
Dec 12, 2012, 04:49 PM
I still have this on my G3 :)

Carlanga
Dec 12, 2012, 04:54 PM
Got it! Thanks! Get some!

LethalWolfe
Dec 12, 2012, 04:54 PM
I probably still have an original boxed copy of the Atomic Edition someplace but I might have to grab this just for the 113 free Duke ring tones!:p

nagromme
Dec 12, 2012, 04:57 PM
I never played this until it came out on iPad. Weird.

The cheesy graphics only served to make me miss Descent more.

MacDav
Dec 12, 2012, 05:34 PM
If you can get past the graphics, it is still fun to play.

ckeck
Dec 12, 2012, 05:41 PM
It's time for me to kick some ass and chew some bubble gum...and no, I'm NOT all out of gum either. Plenty of both on the way!

Thanks GOG!

Unggoy Murderer
Dec 12, 2012, 05:43 PM
COME GET SOME!

Loved that game in my childhood. (Yes, my parents neglected me.)

miknos
Dec 12, 2012, 05:46 PM
Funniest game I ever played. Graphics are very outdated though.

RoelJuun
Dec 12, 2012, 05:52 PM
A shame you can't change the controls. I'd like to strafe, the keys are somewhat nasty placed though.

You can save at any time though, so it's still more modern than so many of the ****** consol crap games of today.

Renzatic
Dec 12, 2012, 05:58 PM
I just bought this last month! Damnit!

Renzatic
Dec 12, 2012, 06:10 PM
Funniest game I ever played. Graphics are very outdated though.

Then try this (http://eduke32.com/).

Pakaku
Dec 12, 2012, 06:10 PM
Still better than Duke Nukem Forever ;)

NY Guitarist
Dec 12, 2012, 06:13 PM
Hold still and I'll make this quick!

bradl
Dec 12, 2012, 06:19 PM
5. "Shake it, baby!"

6. "Damn.. I'm lookin' GOOOOODD!"

7. "It's time to kick ass and chew bubblegum... and I'm all out of gum."

8. "Damn. Those alien b******s are gonna pay for shootin' up my ride!"

9. "Damn! That's the second time those alien b******s shot up my ride!"

And my personal favourite....

10. "This is KTIT! KTIT! playing the breast....errr... the best tunes in town!"

Love that game. I'm all over this like fat tick on a lazy dog when I get home tonight.

BL.

ArtOfWarfare
Dec 12, 2012, 07:08 PM
I bought this for $5 for my iPhone a few years ago... Controls made it completely unplayable. For free on my Mac I guess I'll give it another shot. My parents didn't neglect me, they made me play the relatively mild Doom (loved that, by the way.)

appahappa
Dec 12, 2012, 08:05 PM
I played this game as a kid. Man, the graphics look so horrible on a 27" screen.

crazy dave
Dec 12, 2012, 08:23 PM
http://www.gog.com/news/holiday_gift_duke_nukem_3d_pcmac

The article you linked to has the end date wrong. The GOG winter sale ends Jan. 3rd, but this is a special promotion ending earlier.

They also have another special promotion (not free, but even higher discount for the bundle) on on classic Bullfrog games (Syndicate, Dungeon Keeper, Theme Hospital, Magic Carpet, etc ...), many of which have Mac versions without needing to port them yourself (Boxer-DOSBox).

http://www.gog.com/promo/bullfrog_favourites

Sale ends in roughly 12 hours.

----------

I played this game as a kid. Man, the graphics look so horrible on a 27" screen.

There is an open source engine called "eDuke" which might improve things:

http://eduke32.com/

Caveat: I've not used it myself.

Phishphan79
Dec 12, 2012, 08:37 PM
I used to play DOOM all the time with my buddies on a dial-up 14.4 modem. Those were the good ol days!

iMikeT
Dec 12, 2012, 08:55 PM
I'll be sure to get this before the January 3rd deadline. This game brings back so many memories. :D

But what's up with the heavy system requirements for both Mac and Windows?

Minimum system requirements: Windows XP or Windows Vista, 1.8 GHz Processor, 512MB RAM (1 GB recommended), 3D graphics card compatible with DirectX 7 (compatible with DirectX 9 recommended), 2GB HDD, Mouse, Keyboard.

Minimum system requirements (Mac): OS X 10.6.8 or later. Processor: Intel Core Duo 2GHz+ Memory: 1GB of RAM Graphics: 64MB of video memory


Practically 2GHz CPU and 1GB of RAM for both systems! :eek: I remember the Win 95 beige box that I installed Duke Nukem 3D on as a kid didn't have anything close to that and it ran the game just fine. It was something like a 200MHz Pentium II CPU, 128MB of RAM, a 1MB GPU, and less than 1GB HDD. :o I still have my original Duke Nukem 3D box and disk somewhere. I should dig it out and post it up on here! :D

NY Guitarist
Dec 12, 2012, 11:02 PM
I played this game as a kid. Man, the graphics look so horrible on a 27" screen.

30" ACD never looked so bad.

g-7
Dec 13, 2012, 01:07 AM
A shame you can't change the controls.

You can, but you have to do it before launching the actual game. Just open it and click Game Setup.

badsandwich
Dec 13, 2012, 01:51 AM
DealNews are reporting it wrong. The deal lasts until 14.59 GMT on Friday 14th December.

crazy dave
Dec 13, 2012, 07:10 AM
I'll be sure to get this before the January 3rd deadline. This game brings back so many memories. :D

But what's up with the heavy system requirements for both Mac and Windows?




Practically 2GHz CPU and 1GB of RAM for both systems! :eek: I remember the Win 95 beige box that I installed Duke Nukem 3D on as a kid didn't have anything close to that and it ran the game just fine. It was something like a 200MHz Pentium II CPU, 128MB of RAM, a 1MB GPU, and less than 1GB HDD. :o I still have my original Duke Nukem 3D box and disk somewhere. I should dig it out and post it up on here! :D

DealNews are reporting it wrong, the deal ends on Friday, so get it sooner than later. The reason for the high system reqs is because it is being run through DOSBox on both Windows and Mac - it is emulating the DOS environment on top of the game. That requires a beefier rig than when the game was running natively.

RoelJuun
Dec 13, 2012, 07:14 AM
You can, but you have to do it before launching the actual game. Just open it and click Game Setup.

Thx!!

RightMACatU
Dec 13, 2012, 10:19 AM
5. "Shake it, baby!"

6. "Damn.. I'm lookin' GOOOOODD!"

7. "It's time to kick ass and chew bubblegum... and I'm all out of gum."

8. "Damn. Those alien b******s are gonna pay for shootin' up my ride!"

9. "Damn! That's the second time those alien b******s shot up my ride!"

And my personal favourite....

10. "This is KTIT! KTIT! playing the breast....errr... the best tunes in town!"

Love that game. I'm all over this like fat tick on a lazy dog when I get home tonight.

BL.

11. "Makin' Bacon"

12. "I go wherever I please and I please wherever I go"

dXTC
Dec 13, 2012, 10:52 AM
The cheesy graphics only served to make me miss Descent more.

Now that's a DOS game for ya! I got a Descent box set with 1, 2, and a user map add-on pack for Christmas one year. Some of those fan-mod tunnel designs were beautiful and vertigo-inducing at the same time.

If I'm not mistaken, Kurt Harland, the lead singer for Information Society, was a big fan of the game and even played in tournaments. He's now a sound/music designer in the video gaming industry.

Old Muley
Dec 13, 2012, 11:47 AM
My parents didn't neglect me, they made me play the relatively mild Doom (loved that, by the way.)

They made you play doom?! That's rough.

iamkarlp
Dec 13, 2012, 12:13 PM
30" ACD never looked so bad.

Buy the download from GOG

Grab Eduke32 universal here: http://eduke32.com (click on the mac icon)

Grab the Duke4 HRP Standalone file from here: http://hrp.duke4.net/download.php


Install the game from GOG.

Go to ~/Library/Application Support/

Make and EDuke32 folder.

mount the EDuke32 dmg downloaded above and copy everything in it to ~/Library/Application Support/EDuke32/

Go to your applications folder and do a show contents on Duke Nukem 3D. Navigate into Contents and then Resources. Do a show contents on Duke Nukem 3D.boxer. Navigate into C.Harddisk and copy the DUKE3D.GRP and DUKE.RTS files into the ~/Library/Application Support/EDuke32/ folder.

Now unpack the HRP zip file you downloaded. Copy everything inside the zip file (txt files, flat files, folders, etc) and paste it into the ~/Library/Application Support/EDuke32/ folder.

It will now look something like this:

383341

Run the EDuke32 app and set the video mode to something nice and big in 32bpp.

383343

Voila. Playable game.

PS: Thanks to the whole Duke Community. If you get a kick out of it donations to the linked parties are/would be appreciated, etc etc.

Karl P

ArtOfWarfare
Dec 13, 2012, 01:09 PM
They made you play doom?! That's rough.

I guess in a way that's poor word choice, and "let" would be more correct, although if I had to guess, I think if I'd declined my dad would have made me try it at least...

MichaelJohnston
Dec 13, 2012, 01:56 PM
Hey, thanks for the heads up on this one guys! :]

kemo
Dec 13, 2012, 05:11 PM
Yea, its was great game! For those who want to have some more fun try to type following while in game ( without quoest ):

d n s t u f f = all weapons
d n k r o z z = god mode

bradl
Dec 13, 2012, 05:57 PM
Yea, its was great game! For those who want to have some more fun try to type following while in game ( without quoest ):

d n s t u f f = all weapons
d n k r o z z = god mode

Should be 1 Z on the last cheat code.

BL.

NY Guitarist
Dec 13, 2012, 06:57 PM
THANKS!

I'm definitely going to do this!



Buy the download from GOG

Grab Eduke32 universal here: http://eduke32.com (click on the mac icon)

Grab the Duke4 HRP Standalone file from here: http://hrp.duke4.net/download.php


Install the game from GOG.

Go to ~/Library/Application Support/

Make and EDuke32 folder.

mount the EDuke32 dmg downloaded above and copy everything in it to ~/Library/Application Support/EDuke32/

Go to your applications folder and do a show contents on Duke Nukem 3D. Navigate into Contents and then Resources. Do a show contents on Duke Nukem 3D.boxer. Navigate into C.Harddisk and copy the DUKE3D.GRP and DUKE.RTS files into the ~/Library/Application Support/EDuke32/ folder.

Now unpack the HRP zip file you downloaded. Copy everything inside the zip file (txt files, flat files, folders, etc) and paste it into the ~/Library/Application Support/EDuke32/ folder.

It will now look something like this:

383341

Run the EDuke32 app and set the video mode to something nice and big in 32bpp.

383343

Voila. Playable game.

PS: Thanks to the whole Duke Community. If you get a kick out of it donations to the linked parties are/would be appreciated, etc etc.

Karl P

dXTC
Dec 13, 2012, 07:42 PM
Just downloaded it, and it's working, albeit with one flaw: no sound effects. Funny; the MIDI music plays fine, just not the sounds. And Duke Nukem without his signature snarky quotes is not much fun. If anyone comes across some proper Boxer sound settings, let me know.

(I'm on an iMac Core i3, late 2010 running SL.)

Michaelgtrusa
Dec 13, 2012, 11:39 PM
I will try it.

Nightarchaon
Dec 14, 2012, 07:08 AM
got it, was charged full price even though website said free and confirmation said it was free...

*sigh*

macribas
Dec 14, 2012, 10:31 AM
Today is Friday, but the game is not free anymore...

iMacFarlane
Dec 14, 2012, 10:52 AM
They made you play doom?! That's rough.

Yeah, no kidding. Did they at least let you type IDDQD or IDKFA? Good times . . .

Old Muley
Dec 14, 2012, 11:18 AM
+1 iamkarlp, thanks for the write up! I downloaded Duke from GOG last night and my son was completely underwhelmed by the original graphics. The EDuke32 updates really helped spiff things up.

iMikeT
Dec 14, 2012, 03:09 PM
Mother !@#$%^!!!!!!

I missed the update about this being offered only until today and now we have to pay for it. It's only $3 but still, I missed it! :mad::(:(:mad:

Carlanga
Dec 15, 2012, 04:10 PM
...
Thanks Karl for the instructions to make it look "HD"!!
downloading the HR pack which is what I have left to do.
Is there any way to play w/ a PS3 controller? I don't mind playing it PC style, since that is how I used to play the game anyways, but would like to know if its possible.

Carlanga
Dec 15, 2012, 10:49 PM
Buy the download from GOG
...

Had to stop using EDUKE32, the damn thing keep giving me black screens & crashing my laptop, had to force turn off the laptop every time it happened. Saves also crash the app. Will keep using the classic DN3D

iamkarlp
Dec 17, 2012, 01:13 PM
Thanks Karl for the instructions to make it look "HD"!!
downloading the HR pack which is what I have left to do.
Is there any way to play w/ a PS3 controller? I don't mind playing it PC style, since that is how I used to play the game anyways, but would like to know if its possible.

It's not cheap, but controllermate is what you want

http://www.orderedbytes.com/controllermate/

iamkarlp
Dec 17, 2012, 02:00 PM
Had to stop using EDUKE32, the damn thing keep giving me black screens & crashing my laptop, had to force turn off the laptop every time it happened. Saves also crash the app. Will keep using the classic DN3D

There is a large group of us using eduke32 on osx.

While I certainly don't doubt that it is giving you trouble, it isn't common either.

Make sure your computer is capable of using the v5 hrp pack, you may need to use the polymost v5 or even the v4 files.

Failing all of that, you can check to see if it will run in plain eduke32 with just the two files out of the GOG contents.

Late model machines should be ok, as would be earlier machines with discrete graphics.

Don't let the old game fool you, the hrp pack uses a different render engine which uses quite a few resources

Karl P

Carlanga
Dec 17, 2012, 02:56 PM
There is a large group of us using eduke32 on osx.

While I certainly don't doubt that it is giving you trouble, it isn't common either.

Make sure your computer is capable of using the v5 hrp pack, you may need to use the polymost v5 or even the v4 files.

Failing all of that, you can check to see if it will run in plain eduke32 with just the two files out of the GOG contents.

Late model machines should be ok, as would be earlier machines with discrete graphics.

Don't let the old game fool you, the hrp pack uses a different render engine which uses quite a few resources

Karl P
Thanks Karl for both answers.
I will look into the controller app, I had one similar when I had tiger.

The issue I have is based on my ext. LG monitor display. If I run it w/out the external display then it runs fine based on 2-3 tries w/out it. I think it cannot handle the pass to the ext display properly and gets stuck and shows a black screen? I did use the V4 files too and had same issues :( Also, you can create a folder called autoload and put the zip of the HRP w/out having to unzip it. It's a shame because it looks way better than the original. I might try later when a new version of when the engine is updated again. Thanks for all the info! :) Maybe I need V3 of the HRP or older engine or something? My macbook is a 2007 w/ a crappy 950GMA & 2.16Core 2 Duo running Lion.