PDA

View Full Version : Need help with slow




SuperCompu2
Dec 15, 2012, 03:47 PM
I just received a MBA off ebay that has surprisingly high CPU activity, and as a result the computer is running very slowly. Attached is a screenshot of my activity monitor in case anyone has any suggestions.

My model is the 1.8GHz 1,1 model, with 64gb SSD.

Thanks!



wolfpuppies3
Dec 17, 2012, 09:02 AM
Examine each line of that to determine which processes are taking up the memory. Mine runs at around 10-12% system use with six tabs open in Chrome and a number of other processes going on as well.

How much memory do you have? I am running 8 GB on this machine.

theSeb
Dec 17, 2012, 09:53 AM
Examine each line of that to determine which processes are taking up the memory. Mine runs at around 10-12% system use with six tabs open in Chrome and a number of other processes going on as well.

How much memory do you have? I am running 8 GB on this machine.

I am not sure how this bit of advice about memory helps.

The problem is that kernel_task is hogging the CPU. Why does the kernel_task process hog the CPU? It can be because of a multitude of things, but usually indicates the need for some serious house keeping, or a complete and clean OS X reinstall, if one has not been done.

http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=kernel_task+high+cpu

Isamilis
Dec 17, 2012, 10:16 AM
Just curious. Why is in the screenshot, kernel_task is 32 bit app, instead of 64 bit? I've checked mine, it showed 64 bit for sure. Do you use 32 bit mode? Is this really original mac "kernel_task" process? What version of OSX did you use?

Satori
Dec 17, 2012, 10:39 AM
Just curious. Why is in the screenshot, kernel_task is 32 bit app, instead of 64 bit? I've checked mine, it showed 64 bit for sure. Do you use 32 bit mode? Is this really original mac "kernel_task" process? What version of OSX did you use?

Good point. The MBA rev A shipped with leopard which could run the kernel as 32 or 64 bit. I'm not sure if it will address the OP's problem but it could be worth rebooting while holding down the 6 & 4 keys to make sure the 64 bit kernel loads.