PDA

View Full Version : Before or after Xmas

lunasol
Dec 2, 2002, 06:47 AM
I am looking into purchasing a tibook in the very near future,
however have couple concerns regarding that purchase.
Can you guys help me figure out what would be best.....

1)Should I wait after Xmas to buy the tibook?

2) Knowing that I am a beginner in Final Cut pro,
is 512 RAM enough????

Thanks for helping me out...
:)

Thirteenva
Dec 2, 2002, 07:15 AM
512mb would be ok to run FPC but its not optimal. if you were to order the 1ghz tibook before 12/31 you can double your ram for 40 bucks and have a full 1gb.

THe biggest problem with FPC and the tibook is the hard drive speed. Its only a 4200 rpm hard drive. I put a 5400rpm drive in mine and noticed a performance boost.

Mr. Anderson
Dec 2, 2002, 08:24 AM
Originally posted by Thirteenva
THe biggest problem with FPC and the tibook is the hard drive speed. Its only a 4200 rpm hard drive. I put a 5400rpm drive in mine and noticed a performance boost.

Wow, when I bought mine (Rev B.) I got the custom build option and got the 50 Gig 5400rpm drive, I wonder why Apple doesn't have that option any more?

512 Megs fo ram should be fine - but as for waiting or not to wait, it all depends on whether you need it now or can wait. We just got a speed bump, so you probably won't have a new revision until Feb/March 03 at the earliest.

D

Thirteenva
Dec 2, 2002, 08:41 AM
Yeah this round of tibooks no longer has the 5400rpm HD option. I think it has something to do with the availability of the 5400 rpm drive.

I have a rev A. but ordered it through school and did not have the option of upgrading the HD. But thats ok, i got a good deal on my 40gb 5400rpm.

I would imagine that maybe the next revision would have a 5400 rpm drive standard. At least in the top model. It really does boost performance of the machine. I was impressed.

lunasol
Dec 2, 2002, 12:26 PM
How do you find out about rpm....can I get the upgrade
when I buy the laptop????

Mr. Anderson