PDA

View Full Version : If i use parallels do i need a windows 7 key?




Cjshino
Dec 23, 2012, 07:15 PM
im trying to install parallels and at the start up of the installation i dont know what to choose to install windows.



Stetrain
Dec 23, 2012, 07:29 PM
Yes, you need a Windows 7 DVD or disk image (.iso) and a valid key.

ChristianJapan
Dec 23, 2012, 07:51 PM
plus your windows version need to be allowed for virtual installation. For Vista it was the ultimate (and I think Pro or business); for Win8 I have the Pro version running under Fusion. Win7 I'm not sure.
But you will need a key and you might even need to call MS for activation (I needed for Win8 as I "burned" my first try).

Cjshino
Dec 23, 2012, 07:51 PM
Yes, you need a Windows 7 DVD or disk image (.iso) and a valid key.

even for the trial?

Stetrain
Dec 23, 2012, 08:01 PM
even for the trial?

I think with Windows 7 you can install without the key and it will run for a certain amount of time unactivated, it isn't really a trial though.

krravi
Dec 23, 2012, 08:24 PM
even for the trial?

The Trial version is for 180 days and yes it needs a key as well.

Without they key it will run for 30 days.

wolfpuppies3
Dec 26, 2012, 09:02 AM
Parallels simply allows you to install your own copy of Windows on an OS machine. Parallels does not include Windows.