PDA

View Full Version : Macbook Air Monitors




windjunkie
Jan 3, 2013, 02:31 AM
I've read on several occasions that a Mac is compatible with any monitor that has VGA, HDMI or DVI inputs. Not true as many monitor manufacturers have PC connectivity only. Can anyone that uses an external monitor with a Macbook Air please refer me to a $100-17 priced monitor? Note I use Office applications 99.9% of the time



simsaladimbamba
Jan 3, 2013, 02:33 AM
I've read on several occasions that a Mac is compatible with any monitor that has VGA, HDMI or DVI inputs. Not true as many monitor manufacturers have PC connectivity only.
What kind of connection is this pleas?
Most common video interfaces on external computer displays and TVs

Common video interfaces on Macs and the appropriate adapters to connect to other display devices


Can anyone that uses an external monitor with a Macbook Air please refer me to a $100-17 priced monitor? Note I use Office applications 99.9% of the time
Any monitor you find on Amazon with a DisplayPort, Mini DisplayPort, DVI, VGA or HDMI input will work for that.

kage207
Jan 3, 2013, 12:00 PM
I've read on several occasions that a Mac is compatible with any monitor that has VGA, HDMI or DVI inputs. Not true as many monitor manufacturers have PC connectivity only. Can anyone that uses an external monitor with a Macbook Air please refer me to a $100-17 priced monitor? Note I use Office applications 99.9% of the time
I got an external for my desktop though I keep my desktop hooked up to my TV because it is my Plex Media Center device / online videos.

Now my external monitor sits around and is used when I need a monitor for my headless server whenever things go bad which does not happen very often.

Now I use this wonderful monitor ($150 after MIR) 23" and gives you great extra space.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236059&Tpk=asus%20vh236

Cables:
http://www.amazon.com/DisplayPort-Female-Adapter-Macbook-Pro/dp/B002HU629E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1357235931&sr=8-1&keywords=mini+display+to+hdmi
http://www.amazon.com/HDMI-Cable-Category-1080P-Capable/dp/B000AA2RCY/ref=sr_1_7?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1357235967&sr=1-7&keywords=hdmi

Emrys
Jan 20, 2013, 05:23 AM
Hi

Im not sure if this is the right thread, but here goes:

Ive a Samsung SyncMaster 2343nw which was working great with my Macbook. I recently upgraded to a MBA (which I love!) but now the resolution is stuck at 1920x1080, and is not crystal sharp. I use a minidisplay port to VGA.

Please help - the blurry screen is doing my head in !!

Any advice?

Thanks

Abazigal
Jan 20, 2013, 05:41 AM
Hi

Im not sure if this is the right thread, but here goes:

Ive a Samsung SyncMaster 2343nw which was working great with my Macbook. I recently upgraded to a MBA (which I love!) but now the resolution is stuck at 1920x1080, and is not crystal sharp. I use a minidisplay port to VGA.

Please help - the blurry screen is doing my head in !!

Any advice?

Thanks

You may want to try DVI instead. I doubt vga supports such a resolution.

simsaladimbamba
Jan 20, 2013, 05:45 AM
You may want to try DVI instead. I doubt vga supports such a resolution.

Hi

Im not sure if this is the right thread, but here goes:

Ive a Samsung SyncMaster 2343nw which was working great with my Macbook. I recently upgraded to a MBA (which I love!) but now the resolution is stuck at 1920x1080, and is not crystal sharp. I use a minidisplay port to VGA.

Please help - the blurry screen is doing my head in !!

Any advice?

Thanks

Strangely enough, that monitor has a strange resolution (2048 x 1152) to begin with and it also only has analog inputs (http://www.samsung.com/uk/support/model/LS23MYYKBB/EDC-techspecs), no DVI or HDMI, but I guess in 2009 such interfaces were not that common and the CRTs I had in 2001 or 2002 were just anomalies. Or it is a Samsung thing.

Emrys
Jan 20, 2013, 07:30 AM
The strange thing is that it worked fine with my old Macbook and then a few months ago it stopped displaying full screen and lost its crispness.

I bought it because it was on sale due to it's lack of DVI / HDMI inputs, and VGA was fine.

Any advice?

batlogic
Jan 20, 2013, 08:18 AM
I know it sucks to pay for an app to run your monitor but it is a strange res.

Here's a link to a guy that did the same thing....

http://vapaus.org/syncmaster/

Emrys
Jan 20, 2013, 08:25 AM
I know it sucks to pay for an app to run your monitor but it is a strange res.

Here's a link to a guy that did the same thing....

http://vapaus.org/syncmaster/

Thanks Batlogic, infortunately I tried that, and it still doesnt work - for some reason the app wont allow me to use the settings that the example gives - and now it only works on 11920x1080.

Sigh