PDA

View Full Version : How does the conversion work in iTunes?




theuserjohnny
Jan 8, 2013, 01:36 AM
Currently I have roughly a 30GB library for music and I have a 30GB iPod so obviously I have run out of space but recently I've heard of this feature...

http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i71/twonkie/ScreenShot2013-01-07at113353PM_zpsf4b941fd.png

So when I use this feature only the iPod will have the ACC conversion and my actual library on the computer will stay untouched (my library is AppleLossless)?



Julien
Jan 8, 2013, 11:23 AM
...my actual library on the computer will stay untouched (my library is AppleLossless)?
It only converts the songs (to the bit rate/AAC) as they are copied to the iPod. It doesn't change your library's codec in anyway and it will stay ALAC.

theuserjohnny
Jan 8, 2013, 12:34 PM
It only converts the songs (to the bit rate/AAC) as they are copied to the iPod. It doesn't change your library's codec in anyway and it will stay ALAC.

Okay thanks so much for clarifying that for me! This is great news then!

Smellmett
Jan 8, 2013, 04:06 PM
It takes bloody ages though! Took 24 hours to do my then 80GB library. Worth it though as its prolonged the usefulness of my 80GB ipod Classic

AppleDeviceUser
Jan 8, 2013, 07:35 PM
Currently I have roughly a 30GB library for music and I have a 30GB iPod so obviously I have run out of space but recently I've heard of this feature...

Image (http://i69.photobucket.com/albums/i71/twonkie/ScreenShot2013-01-07at113353PM_zpsf4b941fd.png)

So when I use this feature only the iPod will have the ACC conversion and my actual library on the computer will stay untouched (my library is AppleLossless)?

I'd just leave them the way they are and buy a 64GB iPod touch 5 :)