PDA

View Full Version : Warcraft III Black Textures in Mountain Lion




theNEOone
Jan 10, 2013, 02:29 AM
So I reinstalled OSX on my computer.

Started with Snow Leopard, installed WCIII and FT, patched both games, and then proceeded to upgrade to Mountain Lion.

I can open both WCIII and FT, but I see black textures all over the place:

http://i48.tinypic.com/8zfzt2.png

http://i49.tinypic.com/15psaix.png

Any ideas on how to fix this?



Freyqq
Jan 12, 2013, 12:29 AM
looks like some textures aren't loading. Reinstall?

RoelJuun
Jan 12, 2013, 10:31 AM
It's a shame Blizzard does not support Warcraft on OS X anymore. Two gripes; the installer is 32-bit making it impossible to install on 10.7 and up, no more game-support for 10.7 and up.

Luckily I still have my Windows partition…

Schranke
Jan 12, 2013, 10:41 AM
I miss WC3
if my old 2010 cMBP was not dead (coffee accident) i would have reinstalled SL and used it for classic games like WC3.
well i can always make a VM if i really want to play

theNEOone
Jan 15, 2013, 12:05 PM
looks like some textures aren't loading. Reinstall?
So, I can't reinstall unless I format my entire HD, load SL and upgrade up to ML from there. WC3 won't install over ML.

The textures loaded fine in SL. Problem only occurred once I upgraded OSX.

Anyway, I gave up and just decided to BootCamp it up... Argh, there goes 25gb of HD space.....


=|

Freyqq
Jan 15, 2013, 08:14 PM
So, I can't reinstall unless I format my entire HD, load SL and upgrade up to ML from there. WC3 won't install over ML.

The textures loaded fine in SL. Problem only occurred once I upgraded OSX.

Anyway, I gave up and just decided to BootCamp it up... Argh, there goes 25gb of HD space.....


=|

there's a way to run it in osx using wine. I remember reading somewhere that it worked pretty well actually.