Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nashyo

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 1, 2010
Bristol
I started my App development career learning Objective-C, having no background in programming whatsoever. It has been 12 months since I started learning code and I am now curious about learning another language.

A friend mentioned that learning C would enhance my understand of Objective-C, so I got my hands on this book.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/C-Programming-Language-2nd/dp/0131103628

I have progressed 33% of the way through this book to find that the similarities are so similar that I might as well not bother reading the rest of it.

It would be good to get a thread going on other developers thoughts on C, in the context of how it might benefit an Objective-C developer of iOS Apps.

throAU

macrumors G3
Feb 13, 2012
Perth, Western Australia
Objective-C is an add on to C.

All the non-object oriented Obj-C code you write (including, likely much of the code in your methods) is plain C. It's not just similar - it IS C.

Plain C will be useful to you if you ever do any low level work with hardware, or write code for another platform, possibly where Objective-C does not exist.

balamw

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
New England
K&R may not have been the best choice of books. Just my humble opinion.

You might have been better served by one of the phone book sized books that provides tons of example of more specific things.

B

balamw

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
New England
What would you have suggested as an alternative?

I edited my post. I can't think of a specific example right now with my pre-coffee brain, but K&R is a thin book where a lot of the actual work is left as an exercise to the user. Thus, if you already know some programming of any kind it doesn't really add anything to your arsenal beyond the language reference. You do it the way you already know it.

B

nashyo