PDA

View Full Version : Reset ML back to setup screen




pinoyhatdog
Jan 14, 2013, 05:34 PM
Hi,

I recently received a new MBA (mid 2012). Since this was only given, ML had already been sent through the setup screens.

Is it possible to do a reset of sorts that would bring me back to the setup screen without having to do a full re-download then re-install of ML? (ML's download time really is killing me, so if there's a way for me to do it skipping the download, I'd happily do take it)

TIA



Bear
Jan 14, 2013, 05:37 PM
The problem with just "resetting" it to the setup screen is you don't know what bits and pieces may be left behind from the previous user. If you really want a clean system, the only way ot get it is to wipe the disk and do a fresh install.

pinoyhatdog
Jan 18, 2013, 03:33 PM
Thanks for the reply Bear.

Though I have a followup question. To do as you said, I need to first wipe my primary hard disk using the "Disk Utilities" under "OSX Utilities"? And if I do so, would I still be able to load back into the "OSX Utilities" post wipe to reinstall OSX ML?

Sorry for the questions, this is the first time I'd be doing a clean re-install of OSX.

TIA

Bear
Jan 18, 2013, 03:49 PM
Before you wipe the system, log in to the Mac App store (if you haven't). This may or may not register iPhoto and such to your account for the system, but it's better than not doing it. It won't register it to you if it has already been registered to someone else's Apple ID for that system.

And the do an Internet Recovery (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4718) to run Disk Utility to wipe the disk and then install OS X.