PDA

View Full Version : [Geektool] How to get Yahoo Weather Descriptions back in Geektool?


todd2000
Feb 2, 2013, 05:40 PM
So I have had GeekTool turned off for a while, but I missed it, so I turned it back on today. I noticed that some of my Weather scripts weren't working right, because Yahoo had changed their site around. Specifically the image and the detailed descriptions weren't working. I managed to find a thread that fixed the image, but can not figure out how to get the detailed descriptions.

I am trying to get descriptions that pop up when you mouse over the days on this page http://weather.yahoo.com/united-states/virginia/danville-12767875/

ie Today: blah, blah, blah etc.. Tonight: blah blah, etc..

They used to be in plain text right on the page, but now with the pop-up is it even possible?

Here is the script I was using:

curl --silent "http://weather.yahoo.com/united-states/virginia/danville-12767875" | grep -e "<li><strong>Tonight:</strong>" -A 1 | tail -n 1

Thanks!

todd2000
Feb 3, 2013, 12:55 AM
anybody?

JRT-King
Feb 11, 2013, 04:37 PM
Try this out for the current day and next day forecast for your area with hi/low temps. Haven't had any luck getting the pop-ups to appears as they do on yahoo

curl --silent "http://weather.yahooapis.com/forecastrss?p=USVA0206&u=f" | grep -e "Forecast:" -A 2 | tail -n 2 | sed -e 's/<br \/>//' -e 's/<BR \/>//' | sed "s/\(.*\)\.\ \(.*\)/\1\?\2/" | tr "?" "\n" | sed "s/\?\(.*\)/\\1/"

wild4life2013
Mar 13, 2013, 04:38 PM
Look at my post cant work out why they are not working this also might help you to find out why yours are not working if i find out any thing i will let you know.
Thanks in advance link to my post http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1556183