PDA

View Full Version : hardware RAID 10 in OSX?


aaron128
Dec 7, 2002, 12:17 PM
After too many drive deaths I've decided I want hardware RAID 10. Does anyone have any success with any RAID 10 cards in OS X? At this point I'm looking at both SCSI and IDE because I can't find any cards anywhere that support RAID 10 on the Mac. What's up?

saabmp3
Dec 7, 2002, 07:35 PM
RAID 10???? What the hell. I think what your talking about it RAID 0 + 1 which is a mirror plus stripe set.

BEN

aaron128
Dec 9, 2002, 02:17 PM
No, they are opposites. RAID 10 is the opposite of "0+1".

An explanation:
http://www.acnc.com/04_01_10.html

Not a soul using hardware RAID on a Mac?

benixau
Dec 9, 2002, 08:39 PM
probably. look, if it isnt built-in to the OS then apple will have just shot themselves big time, with a mumma size shotty in the foot. you are using an OS that is in essence called UNIX!!!!!!!!

it may just have to be enqabled from the command line which, btw, apple doesnt support.

good luck

aaron128
Dec 10, 2002, 01:09 PM
You can enable RAID in GUI with Disk Utility.

But I want hardware, not software. I don't trust it (plus you lose performace).

-Aaron

[edit: though, as I recall this only works in 10.2]