PDA

View Full Version : Vodafone UK Warning iPhone 4S Users Not to Upgrade to iOS 6.1 Due to 3G Issues




MacRumors
Feb 8, 2013, 02:16 PM
http://images.macrumors.com/im/macrumorsthreadlogo.gif (http://www.macrumors.com/2013/02/08/vodafone-uk-warning-iphone-4s-users-not-to-upgrade-to-ios-6-1-due-to-3g-issues/)


Vodafone UK today began sending out text messages to iPhone 4S owners on its network instructing them not to upgrade to iOS 6.1 due to issues with 3G performance. iOS 6.1 was released to the public on January 28 (http://www.macrumors.com/2013/01/28/apple-releases-ios-6-1-with-new-lte-carriers-and-fandango-siri-integration/). If you've not already downloaded iOS 6.1 for your iPhone 4s, please hold off for the next version while Apple fixes 3G performance issues. Thankshttp://images.macrumors.com/article-new/2013/02/vodafone_ios_6_1_warning.jpg
The carrier has yet to offer additional information on the issue, but Apple's iOS 6.1.1 (http://www.macrumors.com/2013/02/06/apple-seeds-first-beta-of-ios-6-1-1-to-developers/) update has just entered developer testing earlier this week. Vodafone's message suggests that this update will address the 3G problem, but neither Apple nor Vodafone has explicitly confirmed that this is the case.

Update: Vodafone has now posted a notice (http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Apple/iOS-6-1-update/td-p/1425278) on its support forums addressing the issue.Some customers may occasionally experience difficulty in connecting to the network to make or receive calls or texts or to connect to the Internet. Apple is working on a solution to their software issue. These connection problems are intermittent.

While Apple's investigations continue, we would recommend that anyone who has not yet installed iOS 6.1 on their iPhone 4s should delay doing so until Apple has confirmed that their problem has been fixed.(Thanks, Martin!)

Article Link: Vodafone UK Warning iPhone 4S Users Not to Upgrade to iOS 6.1 Due to 3G Issues (http://www.macrumors.com/2013/02/08/vodafone-uk-warning-iphone-4s-users-not-to-upgrade-to-ios-6-1-due-to-3g-issues/)



Glassed Silver
Feb 8, 2013, 02:25 PM
Bit late, no?

Still better than nothing I guess...

Glassed Silver:mac

ghostface147
Feb 8, 2013, 02:25 PM
I run 6.1.1 beta 1 on my 5 and the baseband firmware is the same as 6.1. That being said, perhaps it's a carrier profile issue?

Maybe someone using a 4s with 6.1.1 can tell us their firmware compared to 6.1.

fullfast
Feb 8, 2013, 02:27 PM
Must admit for the last week I have been getting absolutely terrible 3G coverage, calls not getting through and then being notified of a voicemail.....seems to be when I am on a WiFi environment and a call comes through it never gets there.....

Just going to update to 6.1.1 and see if it makes any difference as cant go backwards....

Defender2010
Feb 8, 2013, 02:29 PM
I run 6.1.1 beta 1 on my 5 and the baseband firmware is the same as 6.1. That being said, perhaps it's a carrier profile issue?

Maybe someone using a 4s with 6.1.1 can tell us their firmware compared to 6.1.

What do you think of the beta? I find no different at all. No bugs

Raftysworld
Feb 8, 2013, 02:29 PM
Seems likely that some Android fan at Vodafone is just trying to stir the pot. :rolleyes:

Capers123
Feb 8, 2013, 02:31 PM
I've had a similar experience on O2 UK.

keysofanxiety
Feb 8, 2013, 02:47 PM
A little unrelated to the 3G topic, but I'd just like to state that Vodafone is the worst company I've ever had dealings with. I've been on their contract for 23 months (just one more month until it's over, nearly there!) and they can wholeheartedly suckle from my left testicle.

davidjearly
Feb 8, 2013, 02:53 PM
A little unrelated to the 3G topic, but I'd just like to state that Vodafone is the worst company I've ever had dealings with. I've been on their contract for 23 months (just one more month until it's over, nearly there!) and they can wholeheartedly suckle from my left testicle.

That sounds like it would be painful.

HMI
Feb 8, 2013, 03:05 PM
A little unrelated to the 3G topic, but I'd just like to state that Vodafone is the worst company I've ever had dealings with. I've been on their contract for 23 months (just one more month until it's over, nearly there!) and they can wholeheartedly suckle from my left testicle.

Haven't they abused you enough?!

Maybe you should try AT&T?
They suckle too!

725032
Feb 8, 2013, 03:08 PM
Vodafone are useless... Terrible company

RedTomato
Feb 8, 2013, 03:08 PM
Ulp, just upgraded to 6.1 and jailbroke today. Am on o2. Still, between home and work and kids, I am rarely away from wifi, and even crappy 3G is good enough for the limited amount of actual mobile browsing I get to do when I'm not stuck 50foot underground.

Westside guy
Feb 8, 2013, 03:19 PM
Hmm... I have noticed my data connection cuts in and out at home since I upgraded to 6.1 - it was never very strong at my place, but this never used to happen.

So if the update itself is at fault (that's an assumption, obviously) - would it specifically be the baseband update that's problematic?

ghostface147
Feb 8, 2013, 03:21 PM
What do you think of the beta? I find no different at all. No bugs

Still a bug from 6.1 beta 1 where some of my non-iPhone captured photos are sorted out of order. They're sorted fine in iPhoto events. This wasn't an issue on 6.0 or 6.0.1. I never tried 6.0.2 since I went to the 6.1 beta builds.

vmistery
Feb 8, 2013, 03:25 PM
I upgraded to 6.1 and am on Vodafone. But as they seem to have virtually 0 3G coverage anywhere I go anyway I haven't noticed any difference. Perhaps fixing my wifi bug where even though I am connected to wifi networks that worked fine on the 3GS but cannot stay connected (without having to reboot) on the 5 would be nice! Sorry for the rant.

parish
Feb 8, 2013, 03:34 PM
Vodafone have a 3G network??? Not anywhere I go regularly they don't :rolleyes:

petayshadow1234
Feb 8, 2013, 04:38 PM
That's strange, I'm on Vodafone with a iPhones 4s and I went straight to iOS 6.1 when it was released. I have had no problems what so ever. In fact it could possibly have been better recently. Still hate Vodafone though.

dwright1974
Feb 8, 2013, 06:10 PM
A little unrelated to the 3G topic, but I'd just like to state that Vodafone is the worst company I've ever had dealings with. I've been on their contract for 23 months (just one more month until it's over, nearly there!) and they can wholeheartedly suckle from my left testicle.

I was on Vodascum with my iPhone 4. When I was in between the 4 and 5 I moved to 3 on their rolling 1 month contract because vodafone's 3G coverage was shocking.

3's network, for me, is awesome and I roam around the country. When iPhone 5 came out, I stuck with them on the 37/mth contract which includes all you can eat data. This week they've also said 4G will be standard so I think I will get it when they start rolling it out.

I am "nearly "an advocate of them, I think they're often overlooked due to them not having a great network in the past but when you're looking to move I would give them. Look-see!

Why am I "nearly" an advocate of them? Their customer service is shocking! But over the length of a contract you shouldn't have to contact them that much, do it all in store!

Nothing to do with the topic as such but from one ex-vodafoner to another!

- D

Yumbo
Feb 8, 2013, 07:39 PM
How about the wake from sleep issue as well?

rit
Feb 9, 2013, 12:46 AM
The same problem exisit with Vodafone India as well :(

Keisari
Feb 9, 2013, 12:46 AM
Same problem here in Finland with the biggest carrier Sonera: bad connections, no calls at all etc. After the latest update there is no button for 3G to turn it off. Only LTE. My biggest concern is batterylife. In 8h my iPhone5 is dead...

Dominicanyor
Feb 9, 2013, 01:06 AM
A little to late for that. When is the next update?

turtlez
Feb 9, 2013, 04:00 AM
My day always goes down a little whenever I hear or read about Vodafone.

dave61
Feb 9, 2013, 04:27 AM
... traveling in the UK last weekend my iPhone 4S, with IOS 6.1, roaming on Vodafone UK mysteriously stopped working one evening. I put it down to the hotel being in a black-spot but it would not reconnect several miles down the road. Solved with a complete reboot.

chimpboy74
Feb 9, 2013, 04:33 AM
Not a lot of love for Vodafone!

Last year one of their retentions team tried to get my wife to stay with them. He ended up being extremely rude and telling her she didn't have a clue. An hour later the same idiot phoned me. He tried to deny it but I had some fun with that.

garybUK
Feb 9, 2013, 06:57 AM
I wondered why the network has been so bad recently, I've been getting a lot of 'No Service' 50 per month and it sucks...

The only way to get service is to switch off and on again, even a Airplane (which is spelt wrong) should be Aeroplane Mode doesn't work.

I would try 3 but they are THE single worst company I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with, they are cheap for a reason.

SimonMW
Feb 9, 2013, 01:43 PM
I upgraded to 6.1 and am on Vodafone. But as they seem to have virtually 0 3G coverage anywhere I go anyway I haven't noticed any difference.
+1! My 3G connection is rarely existent even in built up areas where I would expect it. Usually everyone else I know on O2 or 3 gets a perfect 3G signal even in many countryside areas while my phone is stuck on GPRS!

I'll be changing provider as soon as my contract is up this year.

theSeb
Feb 9, 2013, 03:52 PM
This is odd. I am in the UK, but I am with o2 and I don't see any 3G performance issues since upgrading to 6.1

ikir
Feb 10, 2013, 07:00 AM
Vodafone in italy is a complete joke, super slow 3G, more grps (1G) than 3G.... they force you to pay everything compared to 3 and TIM. I hope Vodafone UK is different because a message like this would be fun.

"Ohhh wait, sorry it is our problem, we sucks" Vodafone ;-D

farleysmaster
Feb 10, 2013, 09:16 AM
My wife's phone on EE had a simliar problem, though I suppose it could be a coincidence...

I don't want to lose my jailbreak...

Macman45
Feb 10, 2013, 09:28 AM
I've had a similar experience on O2 UK.

I'm with O2, haven't had any issues yet, nor have they messaged me either, but if its an IOS / 3G issue, then logic would dictate that we will also suffer from intermittent issues at some point...hopefully Apple will sort this out ASAP.

cambox
Feb 10, 2013, 01:11 PM
There is also an issue with 02 and 6.1 if you try and switch over to 2G it keeps you on 3G without realising it. its only when you see that the battery has gone down like the titanic you see its a bug in the software. Also a small bug is now it says Cellular rather than Mobile?? WTF??

rjjkp
Feb 10, 2013, 11:56 PM
This afternoon with 5 bars on my ATT in Michigan, USA. the 3G symbol present , I could not get so much at the current local temp. I tried a speed test app and it just spun unable to get even a "ping" reference.
I recently upgraded from iOS5 to 6.1 waiting past the 6.0 versions in hopes to avoid the problems of early adopters.
It would seem even waiting 6months isn't enough. Apple is truly souring once Mr. Jobs has left.
SAD SAD

farleysmaster
Feb 11, 2013, 02:01 AM
This afternoon with 5 bars on my ATT in Michigan, USA. the 3G symbol present , I could not get so much at the current local temp. I tried a speed test app and it just spun unable to get even a "ping" reference.
I recently upgraded from iOS5 to 6.1 waiting past the 6.0 versions in hopes to avoid the problems of early adopters.
It would seem even waiting 6months isn't enough. Apple is truly souring once Mr. Jobs has left.
SAD SAD

This sort of thing has always happened from time to time. It may just be a network issue.

irnchriz
Feb 11, 2013, 02:52 AM
I wondered why the network has been so bad recently, I've been getting a lot of 'No Service' 50 per month and it sucks...

The only way to get service is to switch off and on again, even a Airplane (which is spelt wrong) should be Aeroplane Mode doesn't work.

I would try 3 but they are THE single worst company I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with, they are cheap for a reason.

aeroplane noun a powered machine used for travelling in the air, that is heavier than air and supported in its flight by fixed wings.
ETYMOLOGY: 19c: French.

aeroplane, airplane
Aeroplane is the standard form in British English. Airplane is the normal form in American English, and it is sometimes found in British English also.

klausmmia
Feb 11, 2013, 05:50 AM
vodafone-----have nothing to say :mad:

TiggsPanther
Feb 11, 2013, 06:54 AM
My wife's phone on EE had a simliar problem, though I suppose it could be a coincidence...

I'm also on EE and have been having it drop the 3G quite a bit the past week or so. Coincidence? Maybe. But when I run the dates in my head, I'm pretty sure I didn't have this problem prior to the 6.1 update.

mayone
Feb 11, 2013, 07:40 AM
Same problem with my 4S (6.1) and Vodafone Italy

TheMacPotato
Feb 11, 2013, 07:41 AM
More background: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-21411970

KdParker
Feb 11, 2013, 09:07 AM
With rumored two new release coming this year, I imagine most users will be moving away from 3g since the iPhone will be available at a discount.

cambox
Feb 11, 2013, 01:04 PM
Big story in the UK but not even mentioned on this site!

Stella
Feb 11, 2013, 03:55 PM
Seems likely that some Android fan at Vodafone is just trying to stir the pot. :rolleyes:

Exactly, and Apple had to create a fix..........