PDA

View Full Version : IBM and the power pc


mac15
Jan 20, 2002, 05:55 PM
It's strange that IBM make apples G3s but they don't put any power pcs in thier own computers they use pentiums. This was strange to me.

And did IBM put their own chips in their computers when they made OS/2
just wondering

crassusad44
Jan 20, 2002, 07:13 PM
IBM use the PPC on serveral of their high end models (servers and stuff). On their consumer products they use the Pentium chip, because you can't run Windoze on a PPC chip.

eyelikeart
Jan 20, 2002, 09:50 PM
Pentiums are made by Intel....

I don't think this has anything to do w/ith the PowerPC processor....

I think Microsoft, if anything, has a deal with the PC processor manufacturers to put only those in the machines with their OS....

krossfyter
Jan 20, 2002, 10:21 PM
...