PDA

View Full Version : [iPad] Anyone using a Smart Cover + hard rear shell?

kylera
Feb 11, 2013, 05:16 AM
I've been using the Moshi Concerti for a couple months, and the rubber that's supposed to keep the iPad fit in is getting elongated, making it next to useless. As such, this time, I'm just considering getting a Smart Cover and a separate rear shell. Does anyone use this setup, and how is it?

ChristianJapan
Feb 11, 2013, 05:25 AM
I use that setup for my iPad 3; hard shell but with some structure for better grip and Smart Cover.

Feels a bit heavier and thicker but still ok. Good for daily commuting; just drop it in my bag and don't care the keys are nearby.

You just need to really check that the shell works with SC; my first one didn't :( my fault

TWO2SEVEN
Feb 11, 2013, 08:16 AM
I use a Smart Cover with a Belkin Snap Shield on my 3rd gen.

My fiance has a Smart Cover with a Switcheasy Cover Buddy.

I like that it is still thin, but protected. I used a leather folio case on my first iPad, it was nice, but bulky.

Also, the back covers have a better grip and stop the back from getting scratched.

kylera
Feb 11, 2013, 08:00 PM
That reminds me. I believe there was a forum post some time ago about how Smart Covers seem to cause the aluminum on the back to chip away. Are you seeing the same on your iPads?

ChristianJapan
Feb 12, 2013, 07:49 AM
That reminds me. I believe there was a forum post some time ago about how Smart Covers seem to cause the aluminum on the back to chip away. Are you seeing the same on your iPads?

More some rusty spots from the magnets, sadly. :(

TWO2SEVEN
Feb 12, 2013, 10:56 AM

I've had the Smart Cover on my 3rd gen since launch day. No problems as of now.

Menel
Feb 12, 2013, 11:32 AM
Smartcover + Switcheasy smartcover compatible shell.

Real nice.

D.T.
Feb 12, 2013, 11:38 AM

Just run a strip of clear tape down the area where the SmartCover contacts the edge, no more worries :)