PDA

View Full Version : iPod Classic Corrupt (wont restore)




Mat246
Feb 11, 2013, 09:50 AM
My iPod Classic 6 gen 80gb is corrupt according to iTunes and needs restoring, but whenever i restore it says the same thing. Ive tried erasing with disk utility then restoring but it doesn't help. Anyone got any advice to get it working?



blueroom
Feb 11, 2013, 09:51 AM
It could be a sign of the hard drive failing.

Mat246
Feb 11, 2013, 09:56 AM
I thought so, i guess theres no fix then

SandboxGeneral
Feb 11, 2013, 09:58 AM
I thought so, i guess theres no fix then

Actually yes it can be fixed. If you have an IBM PC, get the software called Spinrite (http://www.grc.com/sr/spinrite.htm) along with a CF/IDE adapter and open the iPod and get the HDD out. Connect it with the adapter to a PC and run Spinrite on it. There is a testimonial (http://www.grc.com/sr/testimonials.htm) on GRC.com about this being a success.

Spinrite is typically run on normal computer HDD's, but can just as easily fix an iPod HDD.

I use Spinrite all the time to fix HDD's and maintain them.

Below is my old MBP HDD in a Dell PC with Spinrite (http://www.grc.com/spinrite.htm) working on it.

Independent review of Spinrite (http://www.troyandjessica.com/geekspeak/reviews/spinrite) (not me)

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/49002863/MacRumors/SpinriteImages/IMG_2003.JPG

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/49002863/MacRumors/SpinriteImages/IMG_2004.JPG

4x_KlRlcqNI

blueroom
Feb 11, 2013, 10:01 AM
I think those iPods have 1.8" HDDs and I don't think it a standard connector.

Mat246
Feb 11, 2013, 10:05 AM
I don't have an IBM computer unfortunately, the iPod boots fine and i can scroll menus etc but then iTunes says its corrupted so i suppose theres not much i can do.

SandboxGeneral
Feb 11, 2013, 10:06 AM
I don't have an IBM computer unfortunately, the iPod boots fine and i can scroll menus etc but then iTunes says its corrupted so i suppose theres not much i can do.

Do you have a friend or family member who'd let you borrow their PC?

Mat246
Feb 11, 2013, 10:08 AM
Do you have a friend or family member who'd let you borrow their PC?

I think i know someone who has a thinkpad actually, would this work with an iPod?

SandboxGeneral
Feb 11, 2013, 10:10 AM
I think i know someone who has a thinkpad actually, would this work with an iPod?

Probably, if you're comfortable enough with dismantling the laptop. I'd recommend a regular desktop PC to do it though.

Mat246
Feb 11, 2013, 10:23 AM
I think il just sell it, thanks for the help though.