PDA

View Full Version : Software Update won't load?




kamelia
Feb 19, 2013, 12:39 AM
Hi guys,

So my late 2008 Macbook Air that has been struggling, but just managing to run Lion has been having some trouble updating??

Every time I request the Software Update to open, it brings up and error message stating Server (10.0.0.21) or (10.0.0.2) is not responding! I am always connected to the internet and everything else is working, so I cannot understand why the software update is not connecting? :confused:

I have uploaded the screen shots of the messages.

If anyone has any thoughts/suggestions on this matter I would love to hear. Also whether I should maybe just put Snow Leopard back on instead..?

Thankyou!
Kate



durruti
Feb 19, 2013, 01:52 AM
I much prefer Snow Leopard 10.6 over Lion 10.7.

But I don't know what programs you run or need compatibility with respective OSes.

But taking out the variable of program compatibility, I'd say Snow Leopard over Lion. Especially considering that's a 2008 MBA you got there.

Mrbobb
Feb 19, 2013, 02:00 AM
Are u using 10.0.0.x addressing as your Intranet IP? If so u may have configured some kind of proxy that u shouldn't have.

Swiss-G
Feb 19, 2013, 05:58 AM
As stated in the previous post software update is pointing at an internal IP address. Do you use the MBA at work?

This may help: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1015655

kamelia
Feb 19, 2013, 06:25 AM
I much prefer Snow Leopard 10.6 over Lion 10.7.

But I don't know what programs you run or need compatibility with respective OSes.

But taking out the variable of program compatibility, I'd say Snow Leopard over Lion. Especially considering that's a 2008 MBA you got there.


Yes I am thinking the same, I only really wanted Lion so that my iPhone, iMac and Air would all automatically be in sync. But the strife and slowness it is causing me is really probably not too worth it so it is probably better to just put Snow Leopard back on...

----------

Are u using 10.0.0.x addressing as your Intranet IP? If so u may have configured some kind of proxy that u shouldn't have.

Hmm I went through all my network advanced settings to check that because I did have some proxies set up in the past but none were set up. Hence I am so befuddled!

----------

As stated in the previous post software update is pointing at an internal IP address. Do you use the MBA at work?

This may help: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1015655

Hi there, no I don't - but I opened the file that it directed me to and it has the following content:

bplist00

  _AutomaticDownload_LastAttemptSystemVersion_LastRecommendedUpdatesAvailable_RecommendedUpdat esZCatalogURL^LastResultCode_LastUpdatesAvailable_LastAttemptDate_LastSuccessfulDate ^10.7.4 (11E53)ZIdentifier_Display Version\Display NameX041-3000S2.9_HP Printer Software UpdateX041-2996U5.1.1]Keynote 5.1.1_MacOSXUpd10.7.4V10.7.4_Mac OS X Update_%http://10.0.0.21:8088/index.sucatalogd3A∂T/3A/Jl≤⁄Ԉ )-JQZ`nu*!



I am vaguely challenged when it comes to codes so does thet mean I need to delete the selection marked in bold and replace it with http://softwareupdate.apple.com?

Swiss-G
Feb 19, 2013, 06:50 AM
I am vaguely challenged when it comes to codes so does thet mean I need to delete the selection marked in bold and replace it with http://softwareupdate.apple.com?

Software update is definitely pointing at that IP address.

The public apple software update servers are located as follows:

http://swscan.apple.com
http://swquery.apple.com
http://swdownload.apple.com
http://swcdn.apple.com

The latter (http://swcdn.apple.com) currently redirects to the Akamai content distribution network that hosts the updates

However, I would try renaming the com.apple.SoftwareUpdate.plist file and then start software update again.