PDA

View Full Version : MBA + Extra Displays




Kinjal
Feb 19, 2013, 11:54 PM
Currently I work off of an older 17'' MBP at the office. I'm looking for something that gives me MUCH more screen real estate.

I read an article where someone said they were powering a 27'' display (quite easily) off of their MBA. This got me quite interested, but I'm still a little skeptical. How well does it actually run a big display like that? Does it have the capability to run 2x 27'' displays?

I usually use my MBP for Photoshop & Dreamweaver, some light video/audio editing, and some other smaller apps, skype video/conference calls, and web browsing/apps. Will I be able to do this without noticing a big hit on performance with a MBA + 27'' display?



MacFan23
Feb 20, 2013, 04:03 AM
http://arstechnica.com/apple/2012/06/new-macbooks-can-manage-many-many-monitors/

Kinjal
Feb 20, 2013, 07:47 AM
Thanks for the article. That doesn't really answer my question though. Those say that it can power it, but it has nothing to do with performance.

Am I going to notice a performance hit with the use mentioned above.

MacDawg
Feb 20, 2013, 07:51 AM
I run a 13" MBA with a Thunderbolt display

I use use most of what you mention, including Skype and Final Cut Pro without any issues
Yes, FCP is fairly intensive and pushes my MBA, but that isn't related to the Thunderbolt Display as far as I can tell

msjones
Feb 20, 2013, 11:16 AM
The 2011 MacBook Airs only have a single channel thunderbolt port, so they could only run a single external ATD. You can run 2 ATD's from a 2012 MBA: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5219?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US#dispnum

I run my 11" 2012 MBA on a 27" ATD without any issue at all. I would love to have 2, but damn they are costly!