Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cgkrick

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 12, 2005
I'm new to Mac, but this may be a question that is valid for PC or Mac.

What is the purpose of a video capture card. My 13 year old movie maker is telling me we need one. We have a Samsung DV recorder and he is using a G4 with Imovie?

Sdashiki

macrumors 68040
Aug 11, 2005
Behind the lens
A video capture card is like having a VCR in your mac. It would probably have RCA in (yellow/red/white cord) as well as perhaps even Cable Coax in.

With it you can "record" video inputs. Either from something with RCA (or even DV) output OR if its got a TV tuner, from TV.

It all uses proprietary software, there is no current Apple solution.

The way around is to record stuff with a DV camcorder (either in front of the lens or RCA off TV) and then import it thru the camera using iMovie etc.

G5Unit

macrumors 68020
Apr 3, 2005
I'm calling the cops
To put it more simple your computer becomes a video camera for everything it's plugged into. Instead of holding the camera infront of the computer to record what goes on, the screen captures itself. I myself am 13 but I don't need one. Also you can record shows(i think)

evil_santa

macrumors 6502a
Sep 23, 2003
London, England
A capture card should let you record from a VCR to the computer with out going via DV, the main advantage is you can use different encoding other than DV. ie if you need to work with uncompressed video. You can also put out to a VCR from the card or if you are using FCP you can see the video output on you Video monitor (TV)

On the G4 use can use a DC 30 card with this driver it works very well, the the DC 30 will not fit in a G5.
For the G5 you might want a x-fuse
You will also need Final Cut Pro to use a Card, iMovie & iDVD only work with DV.

As Sdashiki said if you need to record of TV / VHS you should be able to record through the DV camera.