Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lepe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 20, 2013
Hi,
I am new to the Mac World, and about to buy an iPad.
I have read that it is possible to backup the iPad via a MAC/PC (iTunes).
BUT
Is it possible to backup an iPad directly to a connected external Harddisk?

Thanks for your help!

Hankcah

macrumors regular
Jul 8, 2010
Source: Kappy from Apple Source Community

You need to point iTunes to the library on the external drive. Hold down the OPTION key while opening iTunes. You will be prompted to select a library. Navigate to the external drive to select the iTunes library you wish to use. From that point on when you sync the phone the backups will go to the iTunes library on the external drive.

lepe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 20, 2013
thanks for yout instant reply!
as i do not have an iPad yet, it is quite hard for me to understand how I can hold "the option key" while opening itunes especialy without an external keyboard? ... but I think I'll figure it out!
thanks!

HazyCloud

macrumors 68030
Jun 30, 2010
You can only backup to the location where your iTunes library exists.

The above poster is referring to moving your iTunes library to the external then when you open iTunes, hold down Option on your Mac keyboard (Shift on a Windows PC) to tell iTunes to use that library file.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1589?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

If I were you, I'd just backup to iCloud as it is done daily without the need for iTunes. iCloud backups will also be more up-to-date since they are usually performed daily. Backing up to iTunes requires you to plug your device in which can easily be forgotten for weeks or even months at a time.

lepe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 20, 2013