PDA

View Full Version : Syncing 2 Propellerhead Reasons together via Ethernet




djblog
Feb 20, 2013, 07:21 PM
Hey people,

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this but I wondered if anyone here has managed to sync Prollerheads Reason to another Mac via LAN? I'm not talking about simply midi over lan I mean Midi Machine Control & Clock too. (in fact that's all I really want!)

Anyone who's done this please let me know how it's possible. Thanks.



Johbremat
Feb 20, 2013, 09:27 PM
Haven't tried for the lack of a need.

But if you can find some sort of software to host on one machine and slave the other to it...

Do some searches for 'SMPTE clock <app|software|tool>' and see how far that gets you. Good luck.

cheekypaul
Feb 21, 2013, 04:17 AM
Hey people,

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this but I wondered if anyone here has managed to sync Prollerheads Reason to another Mac via LAN? I'm not talking about simply midi over lan I mean Midi Machine Control & Clock too. (in fact that's all I really want!)

Anyone who's done this please let me know how it's possible. Thanks.


i am sure its possible, but havent had to do it in a loooong time. be following this thread. let us know how you get on. meanwhile, although not reason, does this help...?

http://www.macprovideo.com/forum/audio/ableton-live/29306

or this...?

http://www.musiclab.com/products/midioverlan/info.html

djblog
Feb 21, 2013, 05:22 AM
I tried Midi Over Lan - it works ok with just sending MIDI note on / off data, but no clock or MMC. I actually managed to link it to a PC via the LAN using this.

Ableton live is a great bit of software - I've not really had chance to play with it properly yet though.

I'll keep this updated when I find the answer - thanks for your suggestions so far.