PDA

View Full Version : Yahoo! has hijacked my internet browsers! Help!




UwizK
Feb 24, 2013, 03:25 PM
I get a Yahoo! search homepage for all three of my browsers (Safari, Firefox and Chrome) now. Probably too much porn, idk. But I need help. Tried changing the homepage on Chrome and it does nothing, Firefox will change the homepage on one reboot but then goes back to Yahoo!. HALP MEEEEE!



GGJstudios
Feb 24, 2013, 03:29 PM
I get a Yahoo! search homepage for all three of my browsers (Safari, Firefox and Chrome) now. Probably too much porn, idk. But I need help. Tried changing the homepage on Chrome and it does nothing, Firefox will change the homepage on one reboot but then goes back to Yahoo!. HALP MEEEEE!
Clear your browser's cache and cookies. Then set your homepage as desired. Also make sure you don't have any add-ons, plug-ins or extensions that could change your homepage. For example, check to see if you've installed the Yahoo! toolbar or other Yahoo! components.

UwizK
Feb 24, 2013, 03:54 PM
Clear Recent History is grayed out for me. Don't see any other way to clear history on Firefox. Removed all unnecessary Extensions, had no Add-ons. Still there. It's for multiple browsers so I'm assuming this is a deeper problem that doesn't apply to one browser or each separately because I didn't download any Yahoo! ****. I do use their site though sometimes for Yahoo! Answers.

davidlv
Feb 25, 2013, 01:22 PM
Clear Recent History is grayed out for me. Don't see any other way to clear history on Firefox. Removed all unnecessary Extensions, had no Add-ons. Still there. It's for multiple browsers so I'm assuming this is a deeper problem that doesn't apply to one browser or each separately because I didn't download any Yahoo! ****. I do use their site though sometimes for Yahoo! Answers.
You can "Clear your browser's cache and cookies" and history as suggested above using Onyx (make sure you get the version for your OS) available here (http://www.titanium.free.fr/downloadonyx.php). That should work for all browsers. I haven't tested Onyx on Chrome, but it works for Camino, Firefox and Safari.
Set up the prefs first, and then using the automatic pane is effortless. Hope that helps.

Rich Gibson
Mar 22, 2013, 06:40 PM
Clear your browser's cache and cookies. Then set your homepage as desired. Also make sure you don't have any add-ons, plug-ins or extensions that could change your homepage. For example, check to see if you've installed the Yahoo! toolbar or other Yahoo! components.

I feel his pain. I searched the problem on then internet and haven't found any successful solution. I removed the add-ons, then used help to identify the files associated with Yahoo. Nothing works. Some say to click on the pencil icon in the Yahoo menu bar but there is none. That is also noted by some questioners. It's as bad as Symantec's bloatware was on my old PCs. On my MacPro running 10.8.3 Firefox Safe hangs.

fhall1
Mar 23, 2013, 06:52 AM
Did you guys happen to install/update Vuze and accept all the defaults by any chance? I hate that program for sneaking stuff onto a system if you're not careful.

printz
Mar 23, 2013, 06:58 AM
I hate that program for sneaking stuff onto a system if you're not careful.
Heh, just like in Windows.

AnonymousJosh
May 4, 2014, 11:56 PM
Did we ever get to the bottom of this YAHOO hijack? i'd like to feel clean again. i trashed and reinstalled chrome and YAHOO still comes up as a second tab. i'm also concerned about what other malware may have been installed.

i'm also really irritated with Apple. why have they not found a way to fix this in the security updates? also, why has Google not come up with an easy solution? i've been wasting the last hour reading about this and trying to find solutions.

Trvlngnrs
May 24, 2014, 08:18 PM
I've been having the same problem with Firefox being redirected to Yahoo when I click on my bookmarks.