PDA

View Full Version : DigiDesign MBox as DAC




Outkast27
Mar 2, 2013, 08:38 PM
would this work as a dac? I want to connect my mbpr to my home stereo...

http://tucson.craigslist.org/ele/3655086102.html



cheekypaul
Mar 3, 2013, 05:51 AM
would this work as a dac? I want to connect my mbpr to my home stereo...

http://tucson.craigslist.org/ele/3655086102.html

I think it will work but you might be better off looking elsewhere as it quite old now, in computer terms.
Also, you may need to pay additionally for it to work with 10.8...
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=304830

What exactly would you like to do? Simply get digital audio out to a digital amp?

bwhli
Mar 3, 2013, 11:49 PM
Don't get this. It's very old, and the sound quality isn't that great. Can you elaborate on what your home stereo setup is like?

Outkast27
Mar 6, 2013, 12:48 AM
Don't get this. It's very old, and the sound quality isn't that great. Can you elaborate on what your home stereo setup is like?

Currently I have an Adcom preamp, Adcom GFA555,and Definitive Technology BP-10 speakers. My pre is the weakest link at the moment due to only having rca ins. I will be upgrading in the near future. I am eyeballing the Audio Engine dac and the streamer II.