Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TangoOversway

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 6, 2013
While I've worked with a number of different languages and even used assembler back when 8 bit machines were all around, I'm new to C++. I've run into something that is way beyond my depth for someone just starting to deal with issues like linking and 64 bit vs. 32 bit binaries and so on.

I'm using an iMac running Mountain Lion (10.8.2). I'm using Eclipse as an IDE (let's leave it at that and not discuss changing the IDE if possible) and it's V. 4.2.1. The version string from gcc is this:

Code:
i686-apple-darwin11-llvm-g++-4.2 (GCC) 4.2.1 (Based on Apple Inc. build 5658) (LLVM build 2336.11.00)
Copyright (C) 2007 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

I'm compiling a simple program. I'm still getting used to C++ and the syntax and all the features I haven't dealt with in Perl or Java. I'm using Poppler, a library to work with PDF files. I believe the library is in C, but the includes are in a folder named cpp. The code for the program is below. (Please - if there's other errors, don't warn me - let me find them and debug them on my own - I'll learn and remember more that way.)

The Poppler includes are in /usr/local/includes and the library files are in /usr/local/lib. When I try to build the program in Eclipse, I am getting this error:

make all
Building file: ../hReaderControl.cpp
Invoking: GCC C++ Compiler
g++ -O0 -g3 -Wall -c -fmessage-length=0 -MMD -MP -MF"hReaderControl.d" -MT"hReaderControl.d" -o "hReaderControl.o" "../hReaderControl.cpp"
Finished building: ../hReaderControl.cpp

Code:
Building target: TestReaderControl
Invoking: MacOS X C++ Linker
g++  -o "TestReaderControl"  ./tReaderControl.o   
Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64: