PDA

View Full Version : English "keywords cannot be longer than 100 bytes."




moonman239
Mar 8, 2013, 01:56 PM
What does this mean? As far as I know, all the characters take up 1 byte each. I have less than 100 characters per keyword. I think it means I can have up to 100 bytes worth of keywords, but the error message seems to imply that at least one of those keywords is over 100 bytes in size.



dejo
Mar 8, 2013, 01:58 PM
What that means is: The entire keywords setting cannot be longer than 100 characters.

TouchMint.com
Mar 8, 2013, 03:16 PM
spaces and commas count too.

ctdonath
Mar 8, 2013, 03:19 PM
Might be a reference to Unicode? One character can consume up to 4 bytes IIRC.

moonman239
Mar 10, 2013, 08:39 PM
What that means is: The entire keywords setting cannot be longer than 100 characters.

I thought so. I wish they had made that more clear. Or is it clear enough? Maybe I missed a word.

dejo
Mar 10, 2013, 09:56 PM
I thought so. I wish they had made that more clear. Or is it clear enough? Maybe I missed a word.

It's a little unclear. I wish it was longer; 100 chars is rather limiting.