PDA

View Full Version : Wireless on a Powerbook. OK if not using Airport BS?


arainert
Dec 11, 2002, 06:40 AM
I've read a lot of stuff concerning the TiBook's ability to hold a wireless signal at a distance from an Airport Base Station (including hacks for the base station that exposes the antenna more).

Is this an issue with other wireless hubs (Linksys) since they already have two exposed antennas?

Or is it not even an issue?

Thanks

:a

yzeater
Dec 11, 2002, 07:12 AM
I haven't found it to be an issue at all. At our house we've got a PB and a Thinkpad (with cisco card) on our SMC network, and they both have almost the same signal strength

chmorley
Dec 11, 2002, 08:10 AM
Since the problem exists within the Powerbook itself, a different base station doesn't make much difference. I bought a Linksys wireless bridge for work and my range is roughly the same as home, where I have an Airport Base Station.

For the most part, though, it's not a big problem. My wife's iBook has much better reception, in general, but my reception is more than good enough. There are a couple of dead spots in the house for me (none for her), but I have positioned the Base Station in the best place to have good reception most of the time.

Anyway, the antenna in the Base Station is about as good as other wireless bridges. It does cost a lot more, though...

Chris

FelixDerKater
Dec 11, 2002, 09:05 AM
If you get a non-Apple wireless card, the antenna will actually be on the PCMCIA card, so Apple's antenna will not be a problem. So, yes, another card would be free of the problems with Apple's antenna inside the PowerBook.

irmongoose
Dec 11, 2002, 09:31 AM
Originally posted by FelixDerKater
If you get a non-Apple wireless card, the antenna will actually be on the PCMCIA card, so Apple's antenna will not be a problem. So, yes, another card would be free of the problems with Apple's antenna inside the PowerBook.

Heh, funny the way you say non-Apple wireless card, because if you open up the Airport Base Station and see... it's just a normal Logitech Wi-Fi card fitted in there, you know :D




irmongoose

Rower_CPU
Dec 11, 2002, 01:54 PM
Originally posted by irmongoose
Heh, funny the way you say non-Apple wireless card, because if you open up the Airport Base Station and see... it's just a normal Logitech Wi-Fi card fitted in there, you know :D

irmongoose

Other than the driver issue. ;)

There is an article about this very thing in the current MacWorld magazine. SourceForge has a driver that *should* work in OS X:

http://wirelessdriver.sourceforge.net/