PDA

View Full Version : 10.8.3 and Dropbox forcing dedicated gfx




stbrown
Mar 14, 2013, 09:26 PM
Has anyone else noticed that after upgrading to 10.8.3 Dropbox enables the dedicated gfx card?

I upgraded to Dropbox v2 yesterday and I'm pretty sure on 10.8.2 it still used my intel card on my MBP 15 2010 model

Now as long as I have Dropbox in the menu bar it keeps switching to the nvidia 330m



shay1208
Mar 14, 2013, 10:29 PM
You can add Growl and twitterrific to the list as well.

corsa
Mar 14, 2013, 11:46 PM
Add Bartender and Reeder and Transmit and Tweetbot to the list. In 10.8.2 those all ran on the integrated gfx chipset, but in 10.8.3 they all force the discrete card.

I'm using a mid-2010 MBP. A friend with a brand new MBP Retina is NOT seeing those apps forcing discrete mode, so it might be something only affecting certain models.

sfxguy
Mar 15, 2013, 04:53 PM
I'm on a rMBP and I have no issues with dropbox switching to the dedicated graphics. Everything is normal for me.

scaredpoet
Mar 15, 2013, 04:58 PM
Yup, mid-2010 MBP here, and Dropbox is and the old Twitter app is using the discrete card. Annoying.

gwang73
Mar 15, 2013, 05:02 PM
I'm on 2012 rMBP with 10.8.3 and Dropbox 2.0 and GPU switches fine for me as well.

stbrown
Mar 15, 2013, 05:52 PM
I guess it's just 2010 models with graphics switching. It's really annoying that these small apps cause the discrete gfx to kick in

fotoroberto
Mar 21, 2013, 01:25 AM
Yes, same problem here on MBP 6,2

What a upgrade, if only I knew...

Eithanius
Mar 21, 2013, 06:47 AM
Mid-2010 MBP with Snow Leopard 10.6.8, Dropbox triggers my dedicated graphics as well.... Ain't that a Dropbox issue...? :confused::confused:

MacBird
Mar 21, 2013, 08:04 AM
This problem is listed as 'known issue' on the Dropbox site and they are working on it: https://forums.dropbox.com/topic.php?id=98183

They suggest to downgrade to 1.6.18 for now.

mrapplegate
Mar 21, 2013, 12:39 PM
This problem is listed as 'known issue' on the Dropbox site and they are working on it: https://forums.dropbox.com/topic.php?id=98183

They suggest to downgrade to 1.6.18 for now.

Funny on how often people forget to search the relevant company's forums/support site :)
Although the OP was just asking if anyone noticed, not really asking for a solution to the problem.
Yes, I noticed as well and found what MacBird pointed out :)

Toby Ziegler
Mar 21, 2013, 01:44 PM
I'm running Dropbox and Tweetbot on a 2012 cMBP and it's still using the integrated gfx... I haven't noticed it switching either.

mrapplegate
Mar 21, 2013, 01:46 PM
I'm running Dropbox and Tweetbot on a 2012 cMBP and it's still using the integrated gfx... I haven't noticed it switching either.

And you're running Dropbox 2.0.2 ?

Toby Ziegler
Mar 21, 2013, 08:16 PM
And you're running Dropbox 2.0.2 ?

2.0.0 is showing as the up to date version for me.

My MBP is running 10.8.3 and has been since it was released with no unusual graphics switching. I use gfxCardStatus to let me know when it changes between integrated and dedicated.

There was a post a couple of lines up that suggested downgrading to a lower version...I'd say you're better off doing that if it's an issue for you. You can also use the gfxCardStatus I mentioned earlier to disable dynamic switching and keep it on the integrated graphics. You can find it here: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/33905/gfxcardstatus

mrapplegate
Mar 21, 2013, 08:20 PM
2.0.0 is showing as the up to date version for me.

My MBP is running 10.8.3 and has been since it was released with no unusual graphics switching. I use gfxCardStatus to let me know when it changes between integrated and dedicated.

There was a post a couple of lines up that suggested downgrading to a lower version...I'd say you're better off doing that if it's an issue for you. You can also use the gfxCardStatus I mentioned earlier to disable dynamic switching and keep it on the integrated graphics. You can find it here: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/33905/gfxcardstatus

Oh no, there is no problem for me. I was asking because you were not having issues and the OP was, so I was checking to make sure you had the same version as the OP did.

rosh325
Mar 23, 2013, 01:52 PM
Unfortunately based on this I wouldn't hold your breath:

http://developer.apple.com/library/mac/#qa/qa1734/_index.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/DTS40010791

Apple fixed a "bug" in that the 2010 MBP is no longer allowed to use integrated for OpenGL. Such BS!

I suggest using the feedback link to report this to Apple and let them know that sacrificing your battery life for this "fix" is not in the best interest of the user, especially when 10.8.2. showed us these programs could work just fine with the integrated