Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sun surfer

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 6, 2010
Hi, before I've always had Mac laptops, but times are a-changing. I now have an Ipad mini that I use when I travel, and my laptop never moves anymore. In fact, a few years ago, I hooked up my Macbook Pro to my tv, got wireless keyboard and trackpad, and haven't touched the laptop itself for years. It just sits there and acts as a desktop computer; I never use its screen or keyboard. So now that I'm cross-grading (wouldn't call it an upgrade or downgrade), I've decided to go with a Mac mini to get better performance for cheaper. It only makes sense.

But I have some questions I hope you guys can help me with. :) I'm not a techie so some of these questions might be pretty simple.

-

1 - The big $200 decision is between the 2.5Ghz Dual-Core i5/500GB hard drive and the 2.3Ghz Quad-Core i7/1TB hard drive. The hard drive size doesn't matter to me since my laptop now only has less than 200GB, so even 500 sounds amazing to me, so it's really between processors.

How big a difference is there in performance between the two? I've never had a quad-core. I mainly use my computer for normal stuff, internet, word processing and stuff, but sometimes I do need to have a lot of applications running at once, jumping back and forth between them, and I could do with it being a little faster. But also, sometimes I game, and I particularly like Civilization V, and it doesn't work that well on my current laptop at 2.26Ghz Core 2 Duo, so I'm thinking maybe it's worth it to spend the $200 for the quad-core for increased performance? What do you guys think?

-