PDA

View Full Version : CAD software for PPC




Jethryn Freyman
Mar 21, 2013, 03:27 AM
Anybody got any recommendations?

I'd give more detail, and yes I've googled, but in a hurry out of the house right now ~:

<3



MisterKeeks
Mar 21, 2013, 10:35 AM
Anybody got any recommendations?

I'd give more detail, and yes I've googled, but in a hurry out of the house right now ~:

<3

3D or 2D?

Nameci uses TurboCAD, which is paid. I'm compiling FreeCAD from source, and it almost is done. Unfortunately, I don't know how to package it and make an installer yet, so you would have to compile it from source as well, which ain't easy.

Nameci
Mar 21, 2013, 10:39 AM
3D or 2D?

Nameci uses TurboCAD, which is paid. I'm compiling FreeCAD from source, and it almost is done. Unfortunately, I don't know how to package it and make an installer yet, so you would have to compile it from source as well, which ain't easy.

Yes I am using TurboCAD Mac Pro version 3. AFAIK, it is the last version that supports PowerPC Macs. I cannot recall how much I bought it from ebay though.

MisterKeeks
Mar 21, 2013, 10:40 AM
Yes I am using TurboCAD Mac Pro version 3. AFAIK, it is the last version that supports PowerPC Macs. I cannot recall how much I bought it from ebay though.

It looks like they still support PowerPC (http://www.turbocad.com/TurboCAD/TurboCADMac/tabid/556/Default.aspx).

EDIT: looking at the system requirements, they say Intel, so I'm not sure why the Universal icon is there.

Jessica Lares
Mar 21, 2013, 03:57 PM
Yeah, not sure either:

TurboCAD Mac Designer v7
Macintosh® OS 10.6 or higher, Intel® Mac®, 4 GB of hard disk space, 1GB RAM or greater, Mouse Pointing Device (wheel button recommended), DVD-ROM Drive.

TurboCADMAC Pro v7
Macintosh® OS 10.6 or higher, Intel® Mac®, 4 GB of hard disk space, 1GB RAM or greater, Mouse Pointing Device (wheel button recommended), DVD-ROM Drive.

TurboCADMAC Deluxe v7
Macintosh® OS 10.6 or higher, Intel® Mac®, 4 GB of hard disk space, 1GB RAM or greater, Mouse Pointing Device (wheel button recommended), DVD-ROM Drive.

Seeing version 2 for $100 on eBay.

PowerPCMacMan
Mar 21, 2013, 10:41 PM
Intel and ARM support.. But the only way to find out is if someone calls and asks them if it will run under PowerPC, but my guess is that TurboCAD 7 does NOT run under PPC.

skinniezinho
Mar 22, 2013, 04:43 PM
3D or 2D?

Nameci uses TurboCAD, which is paid. I'm compiling FreeCAD from source, and it almost is done. Unfortunately, I don't know how to package it and make an installer yet, so you would have to compile it from source as well, which ain't easy.

It was nice if you could make an installer.
There is qcad: http://www.qcad.org/en/qcad-downloads-trial (10.5 for the paid version)
and librecad (tried to run it on 10.4 and said it need 10.5):
http://librecad.org/cms/home.html
edit: tried librecad on 10.5 ppc and it doesn't run.


more options here http://www.pure-mac.com/cad.html