PDA

View Full Version : Dual Core PowerMac G5 Photos


MacBytes
Oct 19, 2005, 07:16 PM
http://www.macbytes.com/images/bytessig.gif (http://www.macbytes.com)

Category: Photos
Link: Dual Core PowerMac G5 Photos (http://www.macbytes.com/link.php?sid=20051019201602)

Posted on MacBytes.com (http://www.macbytes.com)
Approved by arn

Phat_Pat
Oct 19, 2005, 07:18 PM
Nice!

I wonder what the deal is with the changed power supply cord?

G5Unit
Oct 19, 2005, 07:23 PM
3 USB ports on the back, now we are getting somewhere.

ipacmm
Oct 19, 2005, 07:35 PM
nice to see it in real pictures.

runninmac
Oct 19, 2005, 08:12 PM
Oh baby! That is smoking! I wonder how hot the prosessers would get with out that mamoth fan?

Nermal
Oct 19, 2005, 08:48 PM
I wonder what the deal is with the changed power supply cord?

That's what I'm wondering too. I don't see any reason for them to change it, and it will only lead to problems if something happens to your Apple cord and you need to replace it.

Bear
Oct 19, 2005, 08:57 PM
The power connector looks like an IEC60-320 type C20. The old power connector for the previous PowerMac G5s was either a C14 or C16. The MDD PowerMac G4s have a type C14 on them.

So while Apple is using a international standard connector type, it might not be available at every corner shop.

nagromme
Oct 19, 2005, 10:33 PM
I'm glad Apple didn't invent a whole new cord you can only get from them... but it WAS very useful to have ALL computer stuff share the same easily-obtained power cords.

(I don't suppose that's simply a non-US version, and the US version will have the usual cord?)

Or does the thing use so much power it needs a special cord like a clothes dryer? :p

Bear
Oct 20, 2005, 08:05 AM
I'm glad Apple didn't invent a whole new cord you can only get from them... but it WAS very useful to have ALL computer stuff share the same easily-obtained power cords.Also, a special cord would've cost more money.

(I don't suppose that's simply a non-US version, and the US version will have the usual cord?)It looked like a US power cord in the picture.

Or does the thing use so much power it needs a special cord like a clothes dryer? :pIt can use a fair bit of power, so that's probably it.