Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

M-5

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 4, 2008
I have been using iPhoto for a few years now, and it has been easy to organize my photos by event (and even tagged faces). But my library has become larger and larger over the past couple of years, and I realized that I want a better way to organize my photos.

Another reason for wanting to switch over to Lightroom is that it's very cumbersome to have to import and export many photos out of iPhoto if I want to edit in Photoshop.

I do like the ease of syncing with my iOS devices that iPhoto offers me, but I'm willing to give this up. I also stopped using Photostream a couple of weeks ago when I found out that my mom had been receiving photos that weren't hers in her own photostream on her iPad, and that kind of freaked me out.

I have a question on where to store my photos (or more specifically, what your practices are) after I have moved them from iPhoto in an effort to stop using iPhoto completely. I understand that Lightroom doesn't actually store photos in the app but instead references them from a location and keeps a record of your edits and metadata in its catalogue. So what I'm wondering is if I want to keep my photos locally on my MacBook's SSD, should I just dump all of my photos into a single folder on my desktop for instance, and then just use Lightroom to sort through them all?

Thank you for the help in advance!

Last edited:

Laird Knox

macrumors 68000
Jun 18, 2010
You setup a catalog in Lightroom and there are several options of how it handles photos.