PDA

View Full Version : New in the OS X world - need some help!




Kosta88
Mar 21, 2013, 05:47 PM
Hello everyone!

Being completely new in the OSX world, and really being glad that I decided to jump in, as a very experienced Windows user, the OSX throws me twists every now and then, especially when it comes down to some advanced configuration stuff...

I hope I can ask my question and that this is the right place!

1) On the left side of the Finder are Favorites, I am supposed to save my Movies, Music, Pictures etc there. I hope Apple doesn't expect me to save ALL of that there (eg. my OSX disk). So, is there a way to change the location of this folder, like it is in Windows, where I just tell it where to point to?

2) Also, in the Favorites, can I create custom folders?

3) Is it really true that MS Office for Mac (Outlook specifically) doesn't support the iCloud natively, similarly like it works in W7?

That's it for now. Soon I'll have more :)

All the best.
Kosta



gwang73
Mar 21, 2013, 06:24 PM
1) The folders in the sidebar are just shortcuts to the actual folder. You don't need to use them and can right-click the desired folder and select "Remove from Sidebar".

2) Yes, you can drag any folder to the sidebar and it will create the shortcut

3) MS Office for Mac is not integrated with iCloud at all. Only Pages, Numbers, Keynote and TextEdit, which are Apple's MS Office equivalents, are integrated with iCloud.

Kosta88
Mar 21, 2013, 06:29 PM
1) The folders in the sidebar are just shortcuts to the actual folder. You don't need to use them and can right-click the desired folder and select "Remove from Sidebar".

2) Yes, you can drag any folder to the sidebar and it will create the shortcut

3) MS Office for Mac is not integrated with iCloud at all. Only Pages, Numbers, Keynote and TextEdit, which are Apple's MS Office equivalents, are integrated with iCloud.

1) Oh yeah, I can remove them.

2) But this doesn't work. At least not with the folders on the network (NAS and USB disk connected to the router). Doing something wrong?

gwang73
Mar 21, 2013, 06:41 PM
You should be able to drag folders from a NAS or USB drive to the sidebar. I just tried it on my machine. Be careful that you don't drag them on top of another folder by accident.

Kosta88
Mar 21, 2013, 06:43 PM
OK got it, it's impossible to drag the root folder of the NAS, for whatever the reason. I guess I can put everything into additional folder, stupid nevertheless =)

gwang73
Mar 21, 2013, 06:58 PM
Oh, I see what you're trying to do. Yes, it is impossible to dock the root drive in sidebar. Mac 'mounts' external hard drives. This is automatic with direct-connected hard drives. With network drives, you'll need to use the CMD-K shortcut in Finder to mount the drive with either SMB/NFS mounting types.

The nice thing is once you setup the network drive, you can create a shortcut of a folder in sidebar and when you click that folder, it will automatically mount the network drive and goto that folder.

Kosta88
Mar 21, 2013, 07:09 PM
Well, I can do CMD+K, but that is pretty much the same like clicking on the Music folder on the router-HDD in SHARED section of the Finder. It mounts all the same. Same goes for the NAS drive.

----------

The nice thing is once you setup the network drive, you can create a shortcut of a folder in sidebar and when you click that folder, it will automatically mount the network drive and goto that folder.

Yes, however I still have to keep one under-folder on the NAS, which is just a little bit of pain, because then on my QNAP media player, I have one more step to click in... not a huge problem, just a small annoyance :D

Kosta88
Mar 21, 2013, 07:38 PM
Alright, here is another question:

I have a VPN service. This service has more gateways around the world, meaning different gateway IPs.
However, I want to connect only to a single IP through the tunnel.
Now, I already figured I can use "RouteSplit" to make a static route and "install" it, so it's also active upon reboot.
But what would be even a cooler solution was if I could route that one IP through the interface. I figured it would be called -interface ppp0. And it would free me from ever changing IPs through RouteSplit.
So I know I can use:
route add -net x.x.x.x -interface ppp0, but how do I make that stick in ML exactly? And is there a way maybe telling OSX to activate that command when the ppp0 becomes active...?

Regards
Kosta