PDA

View Full Version : Newbie ibook adventure ending

merlynhome
Oct 20, 2005, 03:02 AM
I am about to make the switch from my 4 year old HP which is slowly grinding to a stop to a brind new mac. I have no doubts that I am making a great move and am going to love my friend very much however I am feeling in a bit of a bind about what to get.

I must have a laptop, well that narrows it down and I am a consumer not a pro, excellent that makes my choice between a 12" and a 14", well I would like the bigger screen and the superdrive so desicion made.....or is it. You see all is fine untill you look down the specs and there it is

32MB DDR video memory

Now dont get me wrong I am not starting a campaing for 256mb grapics card but at the same time come on what is that?

I understand that this is not a dedicated games machine but I dont think it is unreasonable to expect the average Consumer to whant to try a game or to for fun, is that not what a consumer madol is for.

I am an avid Football Manager player and although the grapics are basic I am a bit concerned that it may bring my new Ibook to its kneeswhat will happen when I want to pick up Rise of Nations or Command & Conquer Generals which againg are not grapics intensive, but what if I where to move on to Lego Star Wars, or I get taken along in the excitment of Doom3 all of a sudden my top end Consumer machine has to back away.

My second concern is the screen. Let me go back to football manager, you see I am plaing it right now, as I am typing this my team is pressing for a goal. i can do this because I can set my screen resolution higher than the minimum 1024x768 needed this means that I can play the game in a sepporate window and not full screen brilliant I can browse the web send e-mails listen to music, i can do this on my dying computer I could go to dell and do it on a 600 laptop but on 14"ibook, I dont think so.