PDA

View Full Version : Can't Find Files to add Plug-in's to




yellowrose2525
Mar 23, 2013, 07:26 PM
Oh! I hope someone can help me here.

Had my OS go corrupt. Tech wiped my drive clean and I'm starting over. OS is now 10.8.3. Everything is pretty much reinstalled but I've run into a problem. I can't find GIMP files, when going to save plug-in's, where the computer says they should be when I look for them through GIMP. (see attached jpg's)

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m232/gracenglory75/Capture1.png

http://i105.photobucket.com/albums/m232/gracenglory75/Capture2.png

I have taken steps via the Terminal to both reveal hidden .files and hidden library folders. GIMP is still not showing up where it should be. This means I can't reinstall plug in's and brushes. I'm SO frustrated and would love any feedback as to what I may be able to try next.

Thanks!:confused:



simsaladimbamba
Mar 23, 2013, 07:34 PM
The first screenshot shows the path to Macintosh HD / Users / melissa / Library / Application Support / Gimp.
Your second screenshot shows the path to only Macintosh HD / Library / Application Support.

You have to go to Finder, click on Go in the Menu Bar, press & hold the OPTION key and then click on the now visible Library entry.

yellowrose2525
Mar 23, 2013, 08:22 PM
The first screenshot shows the path to Macintosh HD / Users / melissa / Library / Application Support / Gimp.
Your second screenshot shows the path to only Macintosh HD / Library / Application Support.

You have to go to Finder, click on Go in the Menu Bar, press & hold the OPTION key and then click on the now visible Library entry.

Oh! God. Bless. You!

I was going nutso! I have no clue as to the "why" it works that way but it worked and I am eternally grateful! Thank you!:)

davidlv
Mar 24, 2013, 01:07 AM
Oh!!
I was going nutso! I have no clue as to the "why" it works that way but it worked and I am eternally grateful! Thank you!:)

Simple terminal command to "Show the user Library as visible"
chflags nohidden ~/Library
more :cool: er than using the Option key and the Go menu ....:D