PDA

View Full Version : OC powerbook




rabidz7
Mar 28, 2013, 04:35 PM
I am trying to overclock my powerbook 7447A CPU, this has already been done to emacs, power macs, imacs, and mac minis.
Does this apply to powerbooks?
http://www.lbodnar.dsl.pipex.com/macmini/
Where are the msb pll pins that I can jump.
Where are the voltage control pins?



MisterKeeks
Mar 28, 2013, 04:43 PM
I am trying to overclock my powerbook 7447A CPU, this has already been done to emacs, power macs, imacs, and mac minis.
Does this apply to powerbooks?
http://www.lbodnar.dsl.pipex.com/macmini/
Where are the msb pll pins that I can jump.
Where are the voltage control pins?

You already overclocked it, remember?

You had to reapply heatsink paste:
http://forums.macrumors.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=399375&d=1361878106

rabidz7
Mar 28, 2013, 06:41 PM
You already overclocked it, remember?

You had to reapply heatsink paste:
http://forums.macrumors.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=399375&d=1361878106

That was a failed attempt...

Goftrey
Mar 28, 2013, 07:19 PM
That was a failed attempt...

You don't say.

Graveyard
Mar 29, 2013, 02:12 AM
I am trying to overclock my powerbook 7447A CPU, this has already been done to emacs, power macs, imacs, and mac minis.
Does this apply to powerbooks?
http://www.lbodnar.dsl.pipex.com/macmini/
Where are the msb pll pins that I can jump.
Where are the voltage control pins?

Why the ***** do you keep trying to do stuff like this? Have you seen other people on this forum trying to do stuff like this? Sure, there are things you can do with a mac to improve the performance. But most of them do not involve modifying the motherboard to the extreme. I'm about to flash another pc videocard to make it work in a mac, this time i'll do it for my g5. I have overclocked my powemac g3 from 350 to 400 mhz just because i could do it easily and because everyone knows it runs ok at that frequency. Heck, i can get the damn thing up to 450mhz but not without an additional cooler and some extra thermal paste. But hell will freeze before i modify the thingy just for the sake of it.

justperry
Mar 29, 2013, 02:21 AM
Why the ***** do you keep trying to do stuff like this? Have you seen other people on this forum trying to do stuff like this? Sure, there are things you can do with a mac to improve the performance. But most of them do not involve modifying the motherboard to the extreme. I'm about to flash another pc videocard to make it work in a mac, this time i'll do it for my g5. I have overclocked my powemac g3 from 350 to 400 mhz just because i could do it easily and because everyone knows it runs ok at that frequency. Heck, i can get the damn thing up to 450mhz but not without an additional cooler and some extra thermal paste. But hell will freeze before i modify the thingy just for the sake of it.

Have to agree here although your French was a bit harsh, I did this on my pismo a long time ago, it was easy but what is the gain, just a few percent and it's also less stable.
Reverted soon after and never overclocked a Mac again.
If the OP wants to over clock he better gets a PC.

g4manimac
Mar 29, 2013, 10:23 AM
You are obsessed with the whole overclock thing and if anyone would know about it on here it would be YOU wouldnt it? I thought I have seen you on here actually giving advice on overclocking powerbooks I might be mistaken though?

Here is my overclock guide
1.Get wristwatch or other timekeeping device
2.Get powerbook
3.Lay watch on smooth flat surface and place powerbook on top of it

Congratulations you now have a overclocked powerbook

666sheep
Mar 29, 2013, 10:55 AM
It's not that stupid as it seems, 7447A would go to 1.92 easily, BUT... cooling is an issue. That's where Daystar hit the wall with their upgrades. So idea itself isn't bad, but OC'ed PB Aluminum won't ever be stable.

PowerPCMacMan
Mar 29, 2013, 05:14 PM
I will say it again like I always do.. Its NOT worth it to overclock a LAPPY.. You get what you pay for. Sure I too have overclocked my PPC processors once and almost damn near killed my system.. Yes, I also took out the G3 500 in my Pismo and replaced it with the G4 550 which I think only gave me some performance and not what I had wished it would give me.

Overclocking a laptop is just plain stupid and dumb, if you ask me. Besides, even I wanted to personally overclock my G4 1.67 to say a 2Ghz speed, I am sure it wouldn't even run well.. heck, it would break.

Leave overclocking to desktops, hackintoshes... Mac Pros are not overclockable and neither are any of Apple's other machines of today.

Have to agree here although your French was a bit harsh, I did this on my pismo a long time ago, it was easy but what is the gain, just a few percent and it's also less stable.
Reverted soon after and never overclocked a Mac again.
If the OP wants to over clock he better gets a PC.[COLOR="#808080"]

you are obsessed with the whole overclock thing and if anyone would know about it on here it would be you wouldnt it? I thought i have seen you on here actually giving advice on overclocking powerbooks i might be mistaken though?

Here is my overclock guide
1.get wristwatch or other timekeeping device
2.get powerbook
3.lay watch on smooth flat surface and place powerbook on top of it

congratulations you now have a overclocked powerbook

Lil Chillbil
Mar 29, 2013, 05:20 PM
I will say it again like I always do.. Its NOT worth it to overclock a LAPPY.. You get what you pay for. Sure I too have overclocked my PPC processors once and almost damn near killed my system.. Yes, I also took out the G3 500 in my Pismo and replaced it with the G4 550 which I think only gave me some performance and not what I had wished it would give me.

Overclocking a laptop is just plain stupid and dumb, if you ask me. Besides, even I wanted to personally overclock my G4 1.67 to say a 2Ghz speed, I am sure it wouldn't even run well.. heck, it would break.

Leave overclocking to desktops, hackintoshes... Mac Pros are not overclockable and neither are any of Apple's other machines of today.

[COLOR="#808080"]



HOLD IT!! the mac pro is very overclockable, people overclock pros all the time

PowerPCMacMan
Mar 29, 2013, 05:23 PM
Oh yeah.. I forgot about that ZDnet overclock tool which only overclocks the speed, as it can't modify the voltage which would produce a true overclock. But to my knowledge only those with 2006-2008 Mac Pros could make use of that nifty app..

Those with 09,10 couldn't use it and were stuck with what they bought, unless they flashed the 4,1 to 5,1 firmware for 6-core goodness. You know what I am getting at?

:D

HOLD IT!! the mac pro is very overclockable, people overclock pros all the time

MisterKeeks
Mar 29, 2013, 05:37 PM
I am trying to overclock my powerbook 7447A CPU, this has already been done to emacs, power macs, imacs, and mac minis.
Does this apply to powerbooks?
http://www.lbodnar.dsl.pipex.com/macmini/
Where are the msb pll pins that I can jump.
Where are the voltage control pins?

Why do you advise people to do things that aren't possible?

rabidz7
Mar 29, 2013, 05:38 PM
Why do you advise people to do things that aren't possible?

How am I advising people?

MisterKeeks
Mar 29, 2013, 05:48 PM
How am I advising people?

This:
(http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=16941757&postcount=20)
I recommend an overclock. Don't go overboard on the OC'ing. If there are heat issues underclock to stock, reapply thermal paste, and overclock again. If you run into stability issues you can always underclock to the base clock, as voltage bumps are not supported. Your powerbook is supported. Download ATIcelarator off of my link.
http://thomas.perrier.name/index.html

rabidz7
Mar 29, 2013, 05:50 PM
This:
(http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=16941757&postcount=20)

????
ATIccelarator supports powerbooks!!!
????
ATIccelarator can overclock any pre X1xx series ati gpu!
The 15" and 17" powerbooks use the radeon 9700.

g4manimac
Mar 29, 2013, 05:51 PM
How am I advising people?

It just gives people the idea about it. Arent there some very well known overclocking forums?It's obvious that your not getting any real help here.Either way I personally would never want to mess with my perfectly stable powerbook BUT if there was some HIGH PROFILE guaranteed way to do it that was PROVEN to be stable you most likely would have heard about it and done it by now.....I dont even know WHY in the world I am asking this but when things are overclocked (any machine) would the ghz change like in the (about this mac) or would it be known only by you and your personal test done to the equipment?

MisterKeeks
Mar 29, 2013, 05:54 PM
????
ATIccelarator supports powerbooks!!!
????
ATIccelarator can overclock any pre X1xx series ati gpu!
The 15" and 17" powerbooks use the radeon 9700.

You said that he should overclock it. You have a thread about how do I overclock it.

rabidz7
Mar 29, 2013, 05:59 PM
You said that he should overclock it. You have a thread about how do I overclock it.

ATIccelarator is for the GPU.
I am trying to overclock the CPU.
I said to overclock the GPU; this works 100% of the time, CPU overclocking is not known if possible.
Two completely different things.

MisterKeeks
Mar 29, 2013, 07:30 PM
I said to overclock the GPU


Not, you didn't. You just said overclock, which is indicative of CPU overclocking.

this works 100% of the time

Nope.

Two completely different things.

Yes. Just like the diference between Intel, and why SL and up will never work on PowerPC, which you refuse to accept.

PowerPCMacMan
Mar 29, 2013, 07:41 PM
Overclocking a lappy's GPU is not recommended.. You can seriously mess up a screen and or something else, especially on a PowerBook G4. Leave it alone..

Rabidz, why do you constantly and insist on people doing things you claim you do? I don't mean to get involved, as I am usually neutral here on disciplinary matters, but seriously, man.. you've gotta stop this fabrication of Intel versions of OS X being installed on PowerPC Macs..

A word of the wise, No pun intended.

PPCMM
:apple:

ihuman:D
Mar 30, 2013, 09:51 AM
It just gives people the idea about it. Arent there some very well known overclocking forums?It's obvious that your not getting any real help here.Either way I personally would never want to mess with my perfectly stable powerbook BUT if there was some HIGH PROFILE guaranteed way to do it that was PROVEN to be stable you most likely would have heard about it and done it by now.....I dont even know WHY in the world I am asking this but when things are overclocked (any machine) would the ghz change like in the (about this mac) or would it be known only by you and your personal test done to the equipment?

The change should show up under Windows, Mac OS X, Linux etc.

GermanyChris
Mar 30, 2013, 05:49 PM
You already overclocked it, remember?

You had to reapply heatsink paste:
http://forums.macrumors.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=399375&d=1361878106

Less is more with thermal paste..yikes

ATIccelarator is for the GPU.
I am trying to overclock the CPU.
I said to overclock the GPU; this works 100% of the time, CPU overclocking is not known if possible.
Two completely different things.

Didn't you have a AMD Hackintosh to futz with..leave the PowerBooks and the Quad alone.

rabidz7
Apr 1, 2013, 07:22 PM
Would the location of the MSB_PLLs be in the 7447A datasheet?

Intell
Apr 1, 2013, 07:23 PM
Would the location of the MSB_PLLs be in the 7447A datasheet?

No.

PowerPCMacMan
Apr 1, 2013, 07:37 PM
Dude,

You aren't going to see much difference in speed and performance by overclocking your lappy from 1.67 to 1.83 or even 2 Ghz if it can support that high of a frequency.. I would just give it up.. Use an SSD drive to speed performance.. don't mess up a perfectly good laptop..

But, its your lappy.. so don't come crying to us to help you fix it. Its not worth it.. just like someone who has a Mac Pro w3680 and wishes to go from 3.33 ghz to 3.46 - Its just not worth the time and effort. But you do what u wish.


Would the location of the MSB_PLLs be in the 7447A datasheet?

PowerPCMacMan
Apr 1, 2013, 07:52 PM
I got a question for you... Since you know a lot about overclocking and stuff.. is it possible to reverse engineer a G4 chip to allow more than 2GB of memory? The schematics for the G4 processor states that 4096MB can be addressed by the memory controller...

Care to give re-programming the memory controller to allow our G4's to address up to 4GB of memory???

If you can do this.. we will all be very appreciated of u.

g4manimac
Apr 1, 2013, 08:25 PM
I got a question for you... Since you know a lot about overclocking and stuff.. is it possible to reverse engineer a G4 chip to allow more than 2GB of memory? The schematics for the G4 processor states that 4096MB can be addressed by the memory controller...

Care to give re-programming the memory controller to allow our G4's to address up to 4GB of memory???

If you can do this.. we will all be very appreciated of u.


Ohhhhhh rabidz just got called out!Sounds like a challenge to me!

boneskid1
Apr 1, 2013, 09:32 PM
man 4gb in a powerbook g4 would probably be enough for me tokeep it for a while longer

PowerPCMacMan
Apr 1, 2013, 09:35 PM
I bet it would.. hell, I would be happy with it too.. But alas! I don't think its possible. Maybe Rabidz can help us with it..

man 4gb in a powerbook g4 would probably be enough for me tokeep it for a while longer

Frost7
Apr 2, 2013, 12:30 AM
*Picard facepalm*

ybz90
Apr 2, 2013, 11:53 PM
I haven't been around for a few weeks, but what I've missed most of all are probably the outrageous and totally ignorant posts rabidz7 makes.

Lil Chillbil
Apr 3, 2013, 12:06 AM
I haven't been around for a few weeks, but what I've missed most of all are probably the outrageous and totally ignorant posts rabidz7 makes.

And us bashing him on my talkshow

PowerPCMacMan
Apr 3, 2013, 01:13 AM
ROTFLMAO!!!! heheheh!!! :D

And us bashing him on my talkshow

happyfrappy
Apr 3, 2013, 03:37 AM
I'm betting rabidz runs Snow Leopard within VirtualPC via soft-BIOS mod, OS X so slow you can make a pot full of coffee and drink two cups by the time it boots & auto-login launches AppleWorks 6 or MS Word 2008 :D

It boggles the mind of changing the thermal paste on G4s, stock paste was good enough as the processors were fairly cool compared to mobile Pentium III/4. Overclocking is silly, if anyone remembers the Alu PowerBook G4 & iMac G4 processor upgrade via Daystar(native 1.92Ghz & 2Ghz--7447a & 7447b) turned into a bag of hurt as some owners who went for "up to 1.92Ghz" had to underclock for stability. Daystar quickly learned most PowerBook G4 motherboards could only top out at 1.7-1.72Ghz... the few which were stable at 1.75-1.83Ghz were rare. Keep in mind anything above 1.83Ghz sustained while plugged in you'd be draining the battery-power adapter tops out at 65W and Apple designed their notebooks to pull an extra 5-8W via battery under load.

Everybody knows the Alu PowerBook G4 1Ghz-1.5Ghz used the same processors as the Mac mini & iMac G4, those of us with these processors can only top out at 1.42Ghz. The later 1.5-1.67Ghz PowerBook G4s were using the limited yield of stable 7447a before aftermarket upgrade makers got access to higher rated chips--fairly late considering by then the shift to Intel began.

...I think that concludes my weekly visit to this PowerPC town :cool:

rabidz7
Aug 2, 2013, 11:32 AM
I overclocked the G4 to 1.67GHz, and it won't boot. Help please. I tried to pop all the PLL resistors and use pencil lead to jump the correct ones. Do I have to wait for the soldering guy to jump the resistors?

Swampus
Aug 2, 2013, 01:06 PM
I overclocked the G4 to 1.67GHz, and it won't boot. Help please. I tried to pop all the PLL resistors and use pencil lead to jump the correct ones. Do I have to wait for the soldering guy to jump the resistors?

I don't know if pencil lead is going to do it. If you're not comfortable with solder, you could get a circuit writer pen from Radio Shack. Another possibility would be the repair paint for automotive rear window defoggers. It usually comes with an applicator brush in the bottle cap like fingernail polish. It's not as common as it used to be, but I think NAPA still carries it.

Edit: As much as you like to tinker, you really should get a soldering iron. Do an hour or two of Google research to get a feel for the basics. Then practice on an old non-working board for a couple of hours and you'll teach yourself the skills that you need to do this correctly. Soldering is no more tedious than a Circuit Writer Pen or conductive paint.

666sheep
Aug 3, 2013, 06:26 AM
I overclocked the G4 to 1.67GHz, and it won't boot. Help please. I tried to pop all the PLL resistors and use pencil lead to jump the correct ones. Do I have to wait for the soldering guy to jump the resistors?

No, you didn't overclock it yet ;)
Why you've tried this if you can't solder?