Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Spencie

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 17, 2011
The Mothership
Hi all, please bear with me as I am new to iOS programming. I have a tableview inside one of my Viewcontrollers, but none of my tableview methods are being called. The table view is also properly linked to datasource and delegate.

For example, below I have many methods that change the size and color/contents of the tableview, but when I run the application, nothing happens. The tableview just looks like the default size/color.

Any input would be helpful.

Code:
- (CGFloat)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView heightForRowAtIndexPath:(NSIndexPath *)indexPath{
    //tableview cell height
    return 60;

}
- (NSInteger)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView numberOfSectionsInTableView:(NSInteger)section {
    return 1;

}

- (NSInteger)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView numberOfRowsInSection:(NSInteger)section
{

return [storyList count];
}

- (UITableViewCell *)tableView:(UITableView *)tableView cellForRowAtIndexPath:(NSIndexPath *)indexPath
{

static NSString *CellIdentifier = @"Cell";

UITableViewCell *cell = (UITableViewCell *) [tableView dequeueReusableCellWithIdentifier:CellIdentifier];

if (cell == nil) {
     cell = [[UITableViewCell alloc] initWithStyle:UITableViewCellStyleSubtitle reuseIdentifier:CellIdentifier];

}

//---------- CELL BACKGROUND IMAGE -----------------------------
    UIImageView *imageView = [[UIImageView alloc] initWithFrame:cell.frame];
    UIImage *image = [UIImage imageNamed:@"LightGrey.png"];
    imageView.image = image;
    cell.backgroundView = imageView;
    [[cell textLabel] setBackgroundColor:[UIColor clearColor]];
    [[cell detailTextLabel] setBackgroundColor:[UIColor clearColor]];

cell.textLabel.text = [storyList objectAtIndex:indexPath.row];
    cell.detailTextLabel.text = [storyListAuthor objectAtIndex:indexPath.row];

return cell;