PDA

View Full Version : Will Mountain Lion run with 3GB RAM?




2012Tony2012
Mar 31, 2013, 04:35 PM
I have an Mid 2007 imac 20" model: a1224 with 3GB RAM.

Can I install ML on it?



simsaladimbamba
Mar 31, 2013, 04:38 PM
Yes. PS, why not get another 2 GB module and upgrade to 4 GB RAM? And I did run OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion on that Mac but threw it off after a month, maybe it is better now though.

2012Tony2012
Mar 31, 2013, 04:41 PM
Yes. PS, why not get another 2 GB module and upgrade to 4 GB RAM? And I did run OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion on that Mac but threw it off after a month, maybe it is better now though.

Why did you? Too sluggish?

simsaladimbamba
Mar 31, 2013, 05:17 PM
Why did you? Too sluggish?

Yes, but I also dislike Mission Control. And i did use an SSD. As my next Mac will have ML I probably have to get friendly with it anyway.

MrMacMack
Apr 1, 2013, 08:22 AM
ML will run with 2GB.

justperry
Apr 1, 2013, 08:28 AM
ML will run with 2GB.

Barely.

martosprint
Apr 1, 2013, 10:54 AM
I have the mid 2007 iMac also and it was running fine with my 3 gigs of ram. I also just bought the new iMac with 8 gigs of ram. My 2007 iMac will become my spare machine on wifi. 

yearziro
Apr 1, 2013, 10:25 PM
Im running it with 3GB now no noticeable quirks but i dont really do anything to heavy im sure if you were doing some video editing whilst watching a DVD or something you might have problems but for most people 3GB is enough

MrMacMack
Apr 2, 2013, 08:18 AM
Barely.

Needless to say, it runs much better with 8GB. :)

Mr. McMac
Apr 2, 2013, 08:33 AM
I have an early 2009 24" 3.06ghz C2Duo iMac with 4gb of ram, and a 2011 2.3ghz i5 Mac Mini running 8gb of ram. Both are running 10.8.3 Mountain Lion. The Mini is much more responsive than the iMac. When I had 2gb of ram in the Mini, it was a slug.
8 or more gigs is the way to go